People below, people above, fishes to the side


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Ubud
March 15th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all

Well I am back in Ubud and getting ready to start the second half of the Indonessian trip. One person is leaving us and 6 more are joining.

After I last updated we carried on along the north coast of Bali till we ended up so far in the northeast of Bali we could see Java. Our hotel was right on the beach but most of us decided to go swimming that afternoon in the pool and try work on our suntans. That evening we eat at the hotel and as there was nothing outside had a drink and headed back to our rooms. Tom in the room next room as he broke the mosquito net earlier on.

Now the next morning I was up earlier then everyone else (only by 30 mins) and headed off with my instructor Yoyo (I am sorry to say when he introduced himself the first thing I said was Yo). And also Yoyo was just a coolguy with his shades on and carefree driving. We had to go and pick up the equipment from the office and arrived at the boat about 10 mins before everyone else arrived and then they went to pick up their equipment. Then it was off on the boat to Menagan Island. When we got there everyone else put on their swim wear and I was putting on my wet suit, breathing apparatus and mask (if anyone hasn't guessed I was going scuba diving) and then got given all my instructions although when he showed me the symbol he would do if there was a shark he neglected to tell me what I should do if he did that, and when I asked just told me to get into a fighting pose.

But anyway we were soon at the island and I was ready. Yoyo said we were just going to snorkel about for a bit to make sure everything was wroking but next time I looked we were 40 feet down. I had a slight problem with the pressure but it just meant I had to descend a little slower. It was amazing I saw sea scorpians, star fish, nemo, loads of coral. It was fringe reef which meant it just like a cliff of coral. I was a little nervous but apparently a lot of people panic on their first dive which I did not, although I was concentrating a lot on what I was doing and not taking in as much as I would have liked. I was underwater for about 35minutes before resurfacing and heading back to the beach for lunch.

After lunch I did the second dive in a different spot and was a lot more relaxed about what I was doing. Maman came along on this dive and when I first started Yoyo pointed out the snorkelers above my head which was the most perculiar thing as I don't normally see people floating above me, then saw Maman swimming below me. I got a little water in the mask but remembered what I was told and cleared it easily. The second dive was a lot better I was a lot more relaxed and took more time to appreciate the sights and saw a giant clam which was impressive and hundred of other species, there was also massive encaves along the cliff which were amazing to go and look inside. This time we went down to 50 feet. I had a small nose bleed when I came back up and my ears were a bit funny for a couple of days but it was well worth it and I'm all fine now.

Tom absolutly loved snorkling but got quite badly burned and by the time we got to Lovina was suffering from some heatstroke, so had to take it easy and get rehydrated although everyone in the group helped out which was good. He started to feel better yesterday but decided to stay in as there was a walk in the sun planned. We got to the start point of our walk and it was looking quite overcast, but that didn't stop us off we marched into the forest and 40 mins later we were at this massive waterfall hidden away amongst all the trees, so we went for a swim under it, well we tried to but it was impossible to get to close because of the currents, the water was absolutly freezing but that was good after the walk. We got back to the car about an hour later and went and had lunch overlooking a valley with random houses dotted halfway up hills (no one ever thinks of the postman here) and headed off to some hotsprings, dodged the hawkers to get in and had a good swim in lovely warm water then dodged the hawkers on the way back, (well actually I haggled for a small bar of chocolate from 2000 to 1000 and i didnt even mean to). We went for a drink after dinner and played Jenga which has turned out to be game of the trip.

This morning Tom is feeling fine again (well a bit sore but ok) and on the way back to Ubud we stopped at a temple on the lake which was alright but nothing compared to India. And have now made it back to Ubud. We have just sorted out our dates in Australia though we are spilting for a little bit just before we get to Sydney (as Toms got to get there to meet Rachel), something I don't think Toms too happy about (I say that has he just walked off without saying bye). And I am looking to extend my time in NEz Zealand which seems to be going alright atm.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb