Back to the Beach


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Seminyak
April 10th 2010
Published: April 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bali Day 8 001Bali Day 8 001Bali Day 8 001

Sunset in Ubud
Today was the day that I was transferring from Ubud back towards the beach. The beach this time would be Seminyak Beach, which is just a few kilometers up from Legian Beach where I originally started my vacation here in Bali. I had reserved the transfer back with one of the drivers at Villa Sarna and decided to leave only at noon, the time of the check-out. This would give me ample time to enjoy breakfast (which was not much because the stomach wasn't too good this morning ... all better now) and more importantly soak in a bit of sun by the pool.

When I had my little snafu with the shuttle driver a couple of days ago, it was Sara that had come to the rescue and picked me up at the centre of town. She is actually the general manager of the hotel and has worked there for a little over a year in getting it converted from a private residence to this beautiful hotel. We had quite a bit of time to chat on the ride back to the hotel and I mentioned to her that I did photography as a hobby. As I was checking
Bali Day 8 002Bali Day 8 002Bali Day 8 002

My room at The Green Room Bali
out, she asked me if I had gotten some nice photographs around Ubud. I gave her one of the business cards that I had made up just before leaving for my trip and told her that I would post some of the photos from Bali on that website. I then asked her if I could leave a few cards on the table in the living room, which is filled with books and magazine which I am sure have been left behind by former clients. She happily said yes and then added that she wanted a few so that she could put them right on her desk so that people would see them when they checked in. She very jubilantly said "oh I sell for you". So I gave her the little pile that I had brought with me very happily! We'll see ... you never know. I also handed a couple of cards to people in the Monkey Forest who were having a hard time getting shots of the little baby monkeys and we were all basically comparing photos. A few liked my shots so again ... you never know!

So Made was again the driver that would take
Bali Day 8 003Bali Day 8 003Bali Day 8 003

Selling peanuts on Seminyak Beach
me into Seminyak ... sweet boy. He took us through a different road again and I know that I have said it before but oh those rice fields! And again, we saw another wedding ceremony!! I was sharing the shuttle with a couple and their two daughters and the two little girls were so excited to see the bride and groom. During the drive between Ubud and Seminyak, which is about an hour's length, again the skies opened up. It is truly mind boggling the amount of rain that comes down and just as quickly stops. By the time that we got to Seminyak all was good and sunny again!

I checked into The Green Room Bali and my first reaction was something similar to the first time I saw my room in Ho Chi Minh City ... man that was some good photography they did to make it look that good!! At the same time, what travelling has taught me is not to complain about stuff like this. I have a roof over my head and it's clean. Very importantly I am safe and guess what ... there are probably some people that would like to be in my shoes just about now. Oh yes what a hard life to be in a funky room in Bali! But now that it's sunk in, I actually think that it's pretty cool! It is very much the surfer hangout ... oh to be 20-something again!

You know how you get a little tour of your room sometimes when you check in. Well I got by far the most detailed tour of my room EVER from the guy who checked me in. Oh that's how you flush the toilet ... good to know! Yes yes light switch ... up is on and down is off ... got it! Hot water ... turn on the tap and wait a little ... then it gets hot ... I think I can remember that. The bathroom is actually outdoors so the guy said "you keep door close ... you in the jungle ... mosquitoes". What? Are these night-biting malaria causing mosquitoes? Because I don't know if you know young man but I am quite susceptible and I would not want another malaria scare!! Phew good thing the beds have mosquito netting!

After grabbing some lunch, I headed towards the beach. Awww the beach. The red flag was out and the waves were just incredible. I know that I am repeating myself but the sound!! My dad would have had a blast ... he just loves playing in the waves. It was amazing how far you could walk and still have water only up to your knees. The lifeguards were pretty strict though and you heard whistles quite often as soon as they saw tourists wandering a little too far. The water is also so very warm ... blissful. I tried to pick a few seashells and stopped when the one seashells I tried to grab grew legs and walked away ... it was a little crab. I squealed like a girl!

The fact that I am pasty white also attracts many a comments from the vendors that stroll the beach. The most common "you very pretty, you very white, I like your skin". And of course, the guy that was strolling the beach trying to sell henna tattoos had the same line but was shocked to find out that my tattoos were real ... which then only lead to him asking me whether I wanted to go to his shop and
Bali Day 8 006Bali Day 8 006Bali Day 8 006

Golden waters
get another real one. Ummmm ... no ... regardless of how old I am ... my mother would kill me!

So that's all I did all day ... while away the hours on the beach. I went back quickly to grab my camera to go get some sunset shots and now I am safely back in my room. And I will probably not be doing much more than that for the next two days ... awwww doing nothing, staring into space and just watching time go by. Truly the only order of business is finding a couple more little souvenirs for the Fournier men (men are so hard to shop for!) and despite the fact that there are about 10 million necklaces on this island I have yet to buy any!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Bali Day 8 007Bali Day 8 007
Bali Day 8 007

Red Flag - Danger
Bali Day 8 008Bali Day 8 008
Bali Day 8 008

Casting a net
Bali Day 8 009Bali Day 8 009
Bali Day 8 009

Little girl playing on the beach
Bali Day 8 010Bali Day 8 010
Bali Day 8 010

The fishermen were out!


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0257s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb