Sanur Beach Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Sanur
August 2nd 2011
Published: August 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sanur is a touristy beach town in south Bali. The main drag, Danau Tamblingan, is filled with restaurants, travel agencies and spas. We spent our time on the beach relaxing and in the spa indulging. I thought about diving Nusa Penida, an island near the coast, but the strong currents in the area deterred me. I did get to snorkel off a glass bottom boat with my folks. We stayed at Kayu Sugih guesthouse which felt like a spa. It’s quiet, clean and green. I highly recommend it (kayusugih2002@ymail.com). The overall feel of Sanur was relaxing. Although there are a lot of tourists, everyone is there for the same reason, to worship the sun. I saw a quote hanging on a piece of fabric in a shop on the main drag. It really struck me and it took me a while to figure out why. It said:

“Whatever you do will be insignificant
but its very important that you do it.”
-Mahatma Ghandi

My first thought was ..of course its important that I layout on the beach but I wasn’t satisfied with that explanation. I’ve had this feeling when I’m looking out at the ocean from land, that all the fish in the sea have no idea they are part of something so much larger. Then, when I’m diving in the ocean with the fish, I think about how the people on the land have no idea there is so much life and activity under water. The ocean is so big and its creatures are so small and numerous. It’s kind of like us. Sometimes I worry that what I’m doing will not make a difference. Not is a way that makes me doubt what I’m doing but in a way that makes me feel small and insignificant, when in actuality I’m part of something greater but I just can’t see it from my view, like the fish in the sea.
There’s a huge comfort in this for me.
I am so grateful for the sea =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb