Don't call me Kelly


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
April 19th 2006
Published: April 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Big BoysBig BoysBig Boys

Good stuff
One of the very first questions I am always asked when I tell people that I am South African is "So do you surf man?" -"NO, cricket and golf pal."
But at least I can now answer with a resounding "Hell yeah man, I love surfin" Ryan and I tried our best at Kuta beach today and yesterday.
The only things I had going for me was that I am South African, a stud and have long hair.
I achieved more than I thought I would by actually standing up! Lobby is quite a bit better than me due to his past surfing experience. Who would of thought, two boytjies from Pinelands surfing Indo! This morning was a bit frustrating bc it was quite big and constantly breaking and hence it was a bit of a struggle to even get out past the breakers (like a 15 min struggle with many swear words thrown in for good measure). Caught a couple of waves, then got pummeled on the head by a wave and when I came up my board wanged me on the head, so I took a breather on the beach. I then tried again, this time I got nailed
8 footers overhead8 footers overhead8 footers overhead

Scary stuff!
again by a big wave and when I resurfaced the fins on the back of my board hit me in the face. Shit I was pissed off. I get so frustrated by things that I cannot do.
Had a lay down and let the steam boil off before Ryan and I went out again. This time it was so much better, really had a good time. Did swallow a lot of sea water, and have rashes on both arms and legs, as well as some fiberglass in my left hand.
I think I'll stick to cricket and golf.
adios


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Randon PicRandon Pic
Randon Pic

somewhere
This is a really good beerThis is a really good beer
This is a really good beer

one of my favourites on the trip.


27th April 2006

Hi Lloyd! You are surfing now! You need to become one with the wave. I can see you now getting pissed. Don't give up! Miss your S. African studness. Cheers.

Tot: 0.527s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.2408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb