Day 22 - Goodbye lovely Gili's. :-(


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
October 25th 2008
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last night, the guys at the dive school tried very hard to make me stay and do my Rescue Course at Blue Marlin. The course is definitely something I want to do, but I had made plans in Bali already and I have my filght back to Singapore booked too.

I spent a mad morning running around taking photos as I had hardly taken any in my time here. My speedboat crossing to Bali was at 11.30 so after a string of goodbyes (and photos of the hunky instructors as promised! ;-) ) I left my faourite place so far with great sadness but plenty of happy memories.

The crossing took 2 hours and was pretty gentle. There were only about 10 of us on the small boat so it was really nice. As we set off, I had that all too familiar feeling of dread - we were heading towards Lombok again (completely the opposite direction to Bali). Thankfully we just picked up some extra people and headed back in the right direction!! Phew! I sat at the back under the shade of the canopy but didn't didn't realise my legs were in direct sunlight due to the lovely breeze. I am burnt again!!

I had arranged to meet Joey in Kuta and to stay the night with her before flying back to Singapore. Once in Kuta, I made my way straight there and dumped my bags. On the way through the town, I had spotted signs for Topshop(?!!) so wandered down the road to see if it was for real. It certainly was for real, and although small, I instantly felt the urge to do some serious shopping. The prices were the same as the Uk though so I managed to resist! Just!

On the way out the mall, I found this cracking little place called Bread Talk or something equally ridiculous. It had proper chocolate muffins (none of this rubbish they try and con you with elsewhere - real chocolate!!). I bought two and headed back to meet Joey.

The route home was on the west coast of the town and so in direct sunlight. I had a decisions to make - walk home and have melted muffins or risk my life on a scooter taxi. The scooter taxi won without a second's hesitation (remember, this is the first decent chocolate based product I have seen in weeks!) and I agreed the price for my life. I climbed on behind the guy after demanding, much to his amusement, a helmet. I held on and we were off, weaving through alleys and spaces not big enough for an ant to walk down. I had my knees squeezed in as tightly as possible and my legs still touched people riding the other way! In the end, I just accepted my fate, closed my eyes and hoped for the best!! 5 mins later we pulled up outside the hotel and he told me he'd give me a good price to the airport when I left. It was definitely a case of "I'll call you"!!

I met Joey back at the hotel and after being distracteed by an hour of Friends (the London ones - who can resist!) we headed outfor Mexican. It was suprisingly good, but then I would have eaten anything with cheese involved by that point! After dinner we ended up at the Bounty (of the evil green drink fame) and laughed, as I had done previously, at drunken Aussie's doing Kareoke! Funny!

We played a game of pool, and for those of you who know me well, this is a major turnaround for me! As expected, I was completely sh*t and even pushed Joey (a patient teacher by trade) to her limits! Much cheating later (me moving balls and Joey deliberately missing shots) I won!!! Don't think I'll be trying that again for a while!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

My Open water group!!My Open water group!!
My Open water group!!

We all got a free t-shirt for sompleting the course!


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb