The dairy of an a cute dyslexic


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
December 1st 2006
Published: December 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

sunset at kuta beachsunset at kuta beachsunset at kuta beach

Sunset at kuta beach
Hi people,

Well I managed to get on the plane despite a body being found in Arnold,delaying me be 90 mins! And then another body decided to throw theirselves on to the train line near peterboro again delaying me, I was more than a little concerned when a passenger a couple of rows in front of me started choking,but after a glass of water he carried on eating his bread snacks.

Well kuta lived up to its' billing! Benidorm for the Aussies, it's actually not that busy and if you are prepared to haggle you can get a nice discount on just about anything, i've just booked a 3 day PADI course with certificate for 141 pounds,forty pounds less than book price.

After 3 days in Kuta I caught the local bus to a place called Ubud*, this place is lovely with lots of galleries and arty things to-do,I stop at a place called Gusti Gardens*,again the place is amazing,you walk down a steeeeep pebbled mosaic path with flowers and trees growing on either side of the path eventually leading you down to your room or the pool,there are koi carp in the ponds,squirrels(i think!) and big butterflies
tree on a rock in the oceantree on a rock in the oceantree on a rock in the ocean

tree on a rock in the ocean
looking for pollen in the flowering jasmine trees,and at 10 pounds a night it is a true bargain.
Whilst i'm in Ubud there is another religious ceromy taking place all day called GALUNGAN,basically it's a load of kids with animal headgear on and a load of drums and cymbals making a lot of noise going around peoples houses and knocking on there doors for offerings,*it started to get on my tits after 9 hours.

*unfortunately i must have caught something and had to retreat back to kuta and the clinic to get a diagnosis for my syptoms,i keep you posted.

After the clinic i visited Pura Luhur Uluwatu a religious site in the south of Bali, my driver Norman was also my guide about sites on the way and also around Uluwatu,they perform a religious dance here called THE KECAH in recognition og the setting sun. I shall be hiring him again tomorrow,20 pounds gets me a car,driver,fuel + guide for the whole day, He is going to take me to a special site across a lake where they bury their dead in shallow graves,unfortunately the rain sometimes washes the top layer of soil off.( i'm going to leave my wallet in the hotel so he won't get paid until i'm safely delivered home.

Today I hired another cheap driver who at 7.30 this morning took me to a beach so i could photograph the local fisherman bringing in their catch and their wives selling said catch.

I've tried to upload some photos but it takes a bloody age and i can't rotate them (so you don't get a cranky neck), I may have to leave this until New Zealand.

That's for now folks hope your all well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

tina tunatina tuna
tina tuna

The boy with a fish on his shoulders
tree on a rock in the oceantree on a rock in the ocean
tree on a rock in the ocean

tree on a rock in the ocean
Pura Luhur UluwatuPura Luhur Uluwatu
Pura Luhur Uluwatu

the theiving little monkees,keep it zipped up or else they will have it!


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb