Rest of the factory/Random


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
July 11th 2012
Published: July 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So after all the heat tempering, each bar gets measured to make sure they are all the same size. Then they get assembled with eyelets and shot peened. Shot peening is basically sand blasting but with small lead shot. Then they get powder coated and shipped out.



As far as actual work goes, I am just starting. The factory makes all of there own presses and furnaces etc to save money. They only buy very techincal machines like lathes, electric motors and hydraulics. Everything else gets fabricated. I have just started designing a press that will be made. They use autocad 2007. It's really good for 2d drawing but ancient tech for 3d.



I also have the chance to design anything I want that I think will improve the factory and if it gets approved I will actually supervise them building it. I think Im going to design a conveyor type quenching bath because the system they have now to quench the hot bars is very poor. Each worker quenches one bar at a time and has to sit and wait 4 minutes until they can take it out of the oil. My system will be continous so they never have to stop. That's all I have to say about work. Im going to buy a digital camera this weekend and Ill upload pictures.



I've been asked a few times about what is different here or things I have found strange so I kept a list on my phone and ill go through them real quick.

-The company keeps only women accountants. They are afraid men will give away company secrets and since these older women who are probably married never speak to anyone besides their family and work peers, they are ideal.

-The fifteen year old girl in the family was surprised I knew how to ride a bicycle. Maybe she thought we dont have them in america?

-Most of the laborers in the factory are from Nepal. I was told they are the mexicans of India. They all live on factory grounds in tiny apartment things. They dont have to pay rent, water, or electricity but they only get paid around 6,000 rupees a month. Thats about $110.

-I think I mentioned somewhere earlier that any store or building that is actually clean and well built has security at the entrance. When I went to the grocery store, three guards walked up to the car. One to check in the trunk, one to check under the hood, and one with this mirror that looks under the car. They were making sure we didnt have a bomb.

- There is a 120% percent tax on buying cars

-They have diesel 5 and 7 series BMW's

-The family owns an audi Q7, A7, and brand new RS5 that is insanely fast. Also 2 mercedes, a volkswagon and a Skoda.



My next post will be about who the family members are and where I'm living. If you like the list of strange things, let me know so I can keep adding them.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb