Inida 3: Mumbai to Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
August 17th 2011
Published: August 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Sun 14th August - Dylan had to fly back home early this morning to take his resits, which was really sad. But, I didn't have to spend the day alone. I met some lovely English girls at breakfast, who are in Mumbai doing various graphic design internships: Hilary, Lucy and Vicky. They really kindly let me come along with them for the day. We visited the Prince of Wales Museum, as well as some of the other sites I'd seen with Dylan, like CST train station, Crawford Market and Chowpatty Beach. We walked miles! In the evening, we went to a bar where there was a band on to celebrate it being the eve of Independence Day. They were so much fun, playing classic indie rock songs we could all sing along to, as well as the Inidan National Anthem of course!

Mon 15th August - Spent a chilled out day with Hilary, Lucy and Vicky. We went out for lunch and saw 'Rise of the Planet of the Apes' at the local cinema. Said goodbye to the girls this evening, as they were starting work the next day, but I'll hopefully see them again when I'm next in Mumbai - thanks guys!

Tue 16th August - Spent the morning in an internet cafe trying to get my photos and blog up to date. I also got my sandals fixed by a really friendly cobbler on the street. In the afternoon I headed to Mumbai Central for my 16 hour overnight train to Delhi. The train ride was really nice. I was in the class above the one I'd been on with Dylan, which basically just means they give you free food and drink (practically every 5 minutes - not that I'm complaining!)

Wed 17th August - This morning I arrived in Delhi and I'm now at my hostel. I'm starting my group tour of North India on Friday morning - cant wait!

Advertisement



18th August 2011

Alice -- It is so good to read what you're doing... although it does make me a little sad to see you're spending your time watching Planet of the Apes when even I felt a little guilty wasting my precious time in Cardiff on that (but wasn't the bit with the ape on horseback simply excellent??!). On a brighter note - your photos are stunning. My favourite is 'car pool to work'. Made me chuckle. Keep me posted on your group tour. You're so courageous travelling by yourself... BIG respect to that. Lots of love!
18th August 2011

Hi Alice
I can't believe all you've done so far: very courageous and adventurous. You've not got sick at all? Hope not. Anyway it all sounds fascinating and I wish I'd seen India when I was younger. What an amazing experience and culture shock. Will read your following entries as you post them. Enjoy the next stage.Love from chilly Lancashire (staying with Sue, back to hot Lausanne on Saturday). Julia

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb