Greetings from Coimbatore!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
July 5th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello Family,
Yesterday we said our goodbyes to our brothers and sisters in Cochin and left for Coimbatore. It is amazing how in just a couple of days we are able to connect with disciples so deeply. I really want to share with you how proud I am of our single disciples on this team. They have been incredibly giving and inspiring to the singles in India. On Sunday afternoon they led a time of life sharing with the single disciples from Cochin. After that, in true Detroit style, they taught them the "Gospel Slide" and the "Cupid Shuffle". The singles had a blast and it was so good for them to see disciples having fun with one another and laughing. We took some video that we can share with you all when we get home.
Today we split up into two teams and visited many disciples in their homes. The village that I spent time in this morning was made up of about 50 fired up disciples. Many of whom are all related to one another! In one family there are about 12 disciples! One brother was converted and then the gospel just kept spreading throughout the immediate and extended family. In this particular village they have over an hour bus ride to church one way, yet they are at all of the services and they have been consistently fruitful in their family groups. It was very inspiring to see God working through their faith and their commitment to God and the body! Love you guys! Especially you Beth😊 Missing you a ton! Talk you you all soon
Love, Collin


Hey Fam, It's Chad. I'm super encouraged by the climate here in Coimbatore. It's much more like home. We are having a great time. I was with Collin. It was a great time of encouragement and fellowship. It blew me away how many brothers and sisters were willing to take time off of work to great us and have us in their homes. It was seriously convicting. I have so many stories and photos to share with you. I have a couple of the brothers conversion stories on video(with translation) We are less than a week from our departure and the time is FLYING by.

Much love and poydo varen (that's Tamil for Good Bye and we will be back soon) or something like that : )





Hey everyone. We just arrived in Coimbatore and I am absolutely loving it!!!! The brothers and sisters here are amazing!!! We visited a few houses today and it was great to see disciples from around the world. About to hang out with some sisters in a few minutes... I think we're going to get some henna done on our hands. Super excited!
Love, Gabby.
P.S- Dad, no need to worry I am doing just fine. I'm being well taken care of.




"God is good, all the time, he put this song of praise in this heart of mine"
This city really cares about their family being disciples because every body is related to one another. From one uncle produce his 2sisters and their children and 1husband thus far they have only 3MEMBERS left and the whole fam will be united w/christ....

yay-Jesus
love peace and hair grease---bam

Hello all,
Unfortunately every computer I have used doesn't have the proper plug-ins to run the blogs photo uploader. I will continue to try and find one to upload from, please continue to pray. Love you all-Chris

Hi family in the US!! It's Deb, your long found sister! Sorry I haven't been blogging. Either I was not around the computer or they were just finishing up when I came down from my room. We are in the home stretch now and r in coimbatore, india. Sheeba is fabulous as always and I've been reunited with single sisters from last time I was here. Aruna is serving us and is still single. Sudha is serving us but recently got married 5 months ago! Also, Xavier is engaged to be married in October!! The disciples are very nice and we've had a great time getting to know them all. They have great stories of how they got converted and I will be happy to share with you some heart-breaking but soul-saving conversion stories. I particularly loved the dance session in Cochin with all the singles!! Very fun! The house visits have been inspirational and have stretched my character quite a bit. Many of the disciples have been asking about Jen and Ben and wonder where they are!? They can't believe Ben didn't come and miss him a lot. I'm glad that Tim is here with us. He offers the group a lot of wisdom and stability. I miss you all and can't wait to see you! And yes, jen, I'm officially accepted into UM social work! I'm torn. I'm unsure where to go but feel that UM would be a great choice even though I'm scared to death to go there. love, deb.


Advertisement



5th July 2011

I love Coimbatore!
Hello Team! Glad to hear you are having some fun mixed in with the work! :) I have fond memories of Coimbatore, and shopping with Smiley (who is now in Chennai). I imagine you will have many great stories from there! Tim and Collin- I am communicating with Paul re. the money. Don't worry. You may end up staying at the YWCA in Chennai, which is the first place Ben and the team stayed in 2009. Ben warns you that it's not as nice, but it's still safe to stay there; you've just been spoiled with all those nice hotels! (Ben says that Phil and the team loved the YWCA last time.) Debbie- Wow. U of M. Who woulda thought? You will do great there, I'm sure of it. Please tell Jhancy and Suresh I say hi (they may have moved though? I can't remember.) Chris- Have some pretty good PSG ideas for when you get back! And the Ann mag looks great! Can't wait to see you all next Monday! Enjoy this last week. Fight the fatigue. Keep giving your heart until you have no more to give, and then give some more. You'll never regret it. Love you all, Jen
5th July 2011

Thanks for the encouragment!
We are all doing well and conflicted about the end of the trip. Cant wait to see you guys and share all our stories! We now know why you two have a special place in your heart for India! It has been amazing! Love you guys, Chris

Tot: 0.453s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb