Mahabalipuram


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
September 20th 2009
Published: March 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It was 6am in the morning, I went to catch the local bus to the central bus station in Chennai. The bus station is one of the most chaotic places in the world, I have ever landed. It operates simultaneously 270 buses and handle over 2,000 buses from all over India and transports 200,000 passengers a day!

Spread over an area of 37 acres in Koyambedu, this is the largest bus terminus in Asia and is accredited with the ISO 9001:2000 quality certification for its quality management and excellence. You must be there to confirm this claim.

After loitering around for 30 minutes or so, I manage to get the first glimpse of the bus 118, which is about to leave. I throw my bag through the window and the grab the iron bar to get into the moving bus. The buss 118 leaves Chennai = > Kalpakkam = > Mahabalipuram = > East Coast Road. A trip along the East Coast Road gives rise to a spectacular scenic beauty with beaches and fishermen hamlets. I couldn't get any photos on the way to Mahabalipuram, as I have mistakenly left overnight charged batteries behind the prison cell. I grumpily sat behind a man who is carrying a bucket of dried fish, which made me to think of the fish monger in my home town. A hundred of hooting, murderously overtaking others all of us finally landed in Mahabalipuram. At the time of arrival wasn't pleasant as the sun was mercilessly baking the entire area.

Mahabalipuram was a 7th century port city of the South Indian dynasty of the Pallavas around 60 km south from the city of Chennai in Tamil Nadu. It is believed to have been named after the Pallava king Mamalla. It has various historic monuments built largely between the 7th and the 9th century,



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb