Discovery of French Heritage in Tamil Nadu


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Puducherry
September 22nd 2009
Published: March 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Pondicherry is synonymous with French Heritage in India and understandably so as it served as the capital of the French Colonies in India. The town was under French administration for centuries together and hence it is imperative that this place has a strong French feel in its architecture and monuments.

The entire town was divided into two sections, the French Quarter ('Ville Blanche' or 'White town') and the Indian quarter ('Ville Noire' or 'Black Town'). The history of French India was led by Joseph François Dupleix, governor general of the French establishment in India, and rival of Robert Clive.

There is also French influence in the layout of the city. The numbering of the houses is unique compared to other cities in Tamil Nadu, in that all with the even numbers are on one side and the odd number are on the opposite side of the road.

There are a lot of monuments here which speaks about the strong French presence. It includes the French built Children’s park with a statue of Dupleix Marquis Joseph François. The other monuments of French Heritage are the Mairie building which house the Puducherry Municipality , the Le Café which used to be the port office, The French war memorial in Goubert Avenue , The French consulate building , An abandoned light house , The Aayi Mandapam built during the time of Napoleon three and the Romain Rolland Library. Apart from these there are several churches and other monuments which are part of the French Heritage. The Church of our Lady of the Angels at Dumas Street and the statue of Joan of Arc at Dumas Street. Are other reminders of French influence.

The Streets and Roads of Pondicherry have a marked French influence. The Beach road which is part of the Pondicherry heritage is a classic example of French construction.

The part of the journey disappointed me as there weren't any police personal with Kapis at the time of my day trip.

Where did they vanish?

When I arrived at the guest house, a new drama began. Someone has stolen my mobile phone. I complained to the manager who acted arrogantly. He called his so called police friend to threaten me for imprisonment as I have allegedly been connecting with terrorist activities in Tamil Nadu. I might have made a mistake to disclose that I speak Tamil and I was born in Sri Lanka, but obviously my travel document proofed them that I am a foreigner to both India and Sri Lanka. I am sitting in front of the computer screen at home while writing this entry, I still cannot understand their motivation behind all the fuss they made.

Next morning I discovered that the manager's friend at Red Salvation Army Guest House is a drunkard who acted as a policeman. As today's my departure, I left the place earlier than I was supposed.

There is no respect for those who runs Red Salvation Army Guest House!

From here, my trip in India is officially over and I am heading back home.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

A famous road singA famous road sing
A famous road sing

A name of a Hindu politician in English to replace French road sign of Rue Dupleix


Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb