for the experience


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
November 6th 2009
Published: November 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I read a quote once that 'traveleling is only glorious in retrospect'. This, i must say, is pure wisdom.

Even as I look back on the past couple weeks I already begin to feel quite fond of my recent experiences. However, not enough time has elasped for the real experiences to transform into some glorious experience. Already I can say that I would not trade the 'experiences' for anything, but I hope I won't forget some of the realities as well.

Take my journey from Kinnaur (eastern Himachal Pradesh) to McLeodganj (western h.p.). Kinnaur is a beautiful region set in the middle of the gigantic mountains, but reaching this beauty is quite an experience. The single lane mountain roads are carved into the sides of these vast cliffs where the drops are hundreds of meters. In fact, I road on the road that holds the record for the highest vertical drop. Impressive, I know. The roads are mostly gravel, but the occasional pavement that consists of huge pot holes. Buses and cars maneuver these roads as if they were competing for the record on need for speed - i'm sure they consider themselves invincible. But, I give it to
villagevillagevillage

this is the usual scene
them - their driving skills are unmatched.

My last day in Kinnaur was an experience. I woke up while it was still dark to catch my 3 hour bus to meet the pastor in his village. Later that afternoon I took the hour bus to Reckong Peo to catch another bus to Shimla leaving at 7pm. When I tried to get a seat ticket for the Shimla bound bus I was disappointed to hear that all the seats were taken and I would be forced to stand. 'No big deal' i thought - I had stood the majority of my bus trips as it was and I was quite used to being face to face, back to back, and shoulder to shoulder with about 4 people at one time. I was told that i would 'only' have to stand for about 2 hours of the 10 hour mountain journey. I could do it.

Well, about 11pm - 4 hours later - i was still standing and trying to find a way to sleep standing up. Apparently it is impossible to lock your fingers tight enough around an overhead bar to support your body weight, but i definitely tried. Remember, I had been up since 5:30am. About 12:30am I was quite miserable and thought seriously about getting off and sleeping in the street until morning. If the temperature wasn't already in the 40s i just might have done so. Finally, at 1am a seat opened and I was able to give my feet a rest after 6 hours of standing. This was heaven - so I thought.

Now, all i wanted to do was sleep - but i didn't exactly want to snuggle with the terrible smelling man next to me. He used me as a human pillow as we maneuvered those sharp curves at insane speeds - one right after another. I was able to get a few cat naps - but I was miserable.

We arrived in Shimla a bit after 4am. I was freezing cold and just in a terrible mood. I tried to find a cheep hotel but i was bothered so much by the touts that I didn't even want to put up with it. Plus, my 'cheepness' told me that it was dumb to pay an extra 8 bucks for a hotel that i'd only use for 6 hours! So, I
friends on the trainfriends on the trainfriends on the train

these guys traveled with me on the train to Shimla.
hesitantly took the next bus to Mcleodganj. I couldn't imagine getting on another bus...especially since this bus was to take another 10 hours! I decided Id just live through another 10 hours of hell and get to the place I'd be spending the next 3 weeks! Oh, I couldn't wait.

I actually got a seat on this bus, but the curves were equally as sharp and the bus driver equally as 'impressive' with the speed so I only got about 5 minute naps every hour.

When I arrived in Mcleodganj I felt that I had endured the most terrible experience ever! Funny, now, two weeks later as I look back on the journey - I consider myself lucky to have done that. Why, I don't yet know. I guess part of life is to simply experience it - the good and bad. It doesn't so much matter which one it is - good or bad - if you don't have experiences than what really have you done.

I suppose most of my life in the states I try to live so comfortably, thinking that is the best experience, when in fact I am simply missing out on
a rooma rooma room

my room for a bit
what I could look back on with good memories. I don't regret the 20 hour journey. I don't regret not getting a comfortable hotel. I don't regret knowing what it feels like to stand cramped on a bus for 6 hours and try to sleep with an overly affectionate indian man. I would't have told you that at the time...but now...it was an experience...and I don't regret that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

toilettoilet
toilet

this does stink.
friendfriend
friend

hanging in the park.
busbus
bus

another kinda crowded bus. this isn't bad.
varanasivaranasi
varanasi

from the ghats. the holy dip.
schoolschool
school

school at Kalpa


6th November 2009

Sounds like Cleveland to me!
I was actually just thinking this morning about writing a book on my year in Ohio - the title would be "Sometimes You Have to Move to Cleveland." Basically about the 'wilderness' experiences that are miserable, yet not regrettable, even necessary.
6th November 2009

hey buddy... I LOVE the picture of that precious little Indian girl... LOVE HER!!!! I have good news... first of all your birthday is coming soon. Second: Andy and I will be officially be moved to Missouri on Nov 23... pretty cool eh? Cant wait to catch up with ya! - Stace
9th November 2009

Living the Journey
On a mission trip working with the Navajo people, I remember a pastor teaching that while we crave mountaintop experiences, the 'fruit' is in the valley. Both mountains and valleys give us a sense of perspective, and yes fill life with variety, meaning, passion, and story. I often wonder what sorts of experiences Jesus exposed his disciples to in order to help prepare them for the lives they would live after his departure. They likely thought those three years with Him were the big adventure. But that was likely only schooling for what they faced when they were sent into all the world.
12th November 2009

Jason, we hope and pray that the experiences that you're having in India, are also experiences for the people you meet there. I'm fairly certain that they will not forget you as i'm sure you'll never forget them. Despite the fact that many of the people you're working with do not have a relationship with Christ, you have probably shown them an accurate representation of a Christian. Just as we have a clouded view of the Hindu culture, they most likely have a clouded one of us. I hope that the seeds you're planting in their hearts will someday be watered by another person like you. Thank you. We're praying for you each time we meet, and I'm sure that many of us are praying for you daily.
15th November 2009

i miss you!
hey jase!! sounds like pretty rough stuff but i know you're doing the best thing! i think about you all the time over there!!!! stay safe...i'm prayin for you :) i miss you like crazzzzyyyyyy!!! love you, talor ;)
16th November 2009

HaPpY BiRtHdAy!
Happy Birthday Jason! I hope you had a great one! Happy you were born :) Ttys!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb