Normal?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 30th 2008
Published: October 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's hard to believe that I am beginning to think life here is normal. Not that it's a bad thing, it's just that life in India is 180 degrees opposite from what I am use to. There's a rhythm to life here that I'm starting to find, and that feels good.

I wake up and get ready for the day, then head downstairs to eat breakfast with my classmates. We wait outside for our ride to Koenig. Once we get there I try to talk to as many people as possible, working on becoming more of an extrovert. 😊 After class we head back to the hotel, study, hit the market, and figure out what to do about dinner.

Lets see...

I've bought fruit at the local market (no not a grocery store), and gave directions to a taxi driver. Hey that's a pretty big feat in and of it's self since I can never find the street signs. I've planned a road trip to one of the seven wonders of the world, and finessed my way free from pushy salesmen. Passed my first exam, studying for my second one and figured out the mystery of the laundry. I have also found more and more Indian food that I enjoy, Chicken Curry and Parantha, yum.

For the first time in a long time I am starting to feel comfortable in my own skin. How refreshing is that? It does feel good. Dare I say that I'm beginning to feel confident about my future? For now let's just say that I am cautiously optimistic.😊

BTW...thanx to everyone who has sent comments and messages. I look forward to reading them almost as much as some of you look forward to reading the blogs.

Advertisement



31st October 2008

Well then...
So you are becoming "native" are you? Cool! The best way to get to know the country is through the people! See if you can get some local cookbooks for the food (with lots of pictures) so you can make the food you like when you return home.
31st October 2008

Foodie
I expect a cooking lesson sometime when you get back!! lol... Oh wait, H always tells me that I can't cook. I guess you will have to help me prove him wrong! I so look forward to your reading your blog! I am very happy that you are having a good time!!
31st October 2008

cooking lesson...
When I read your comment I just busted out laughing...ok we can try out some of the dishes but honestly it might be better to just go out for Indian food. :)
31st October 2008

Indian food
I have made some Indian food at home, but never my favorite butter chicken. Make sure whatever cookbook you get has that in it! :) I might even share with you when I make it. :D Don't worry about finding the spices here. There's always the internet if we can't find it locally.
31st October 2008

cooking...
Ok TC that sounds like a plan to me. I will look for a cook book :)

Tot: 0.433s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb