Diwali


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 29th 2008
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Happy Diwali!

Some know it as the Festival of Lights, but it's the New Year of luck and wealth. It's celebrated by Hindus, Janis, and Sikhs; each one having their own special significance but I'm too worn out to go into it all.

I was fortunate enough to be invited to celebrate Diwali with one of the instructors' family, along with 3 other students. Let me tell you it was so fun. We ate so much food that I wasn't hungry for breakfast. LOL I don't know the names of the food but it's all vegetarian and it tastes soooo good. 😊 The whole time people were setting off firecrackers outside (actually all over Delhi). Some of them were so loud that they sounded like bombs. Yami, one of my classmates, could hardly wait to set off some firecrackers as well. It was so funny to see a grown man turn into a kid at the thought of firecrackers. After we were done with the first course we went outside and set off firecrackers with the rest of the neighborhood. I had so much fun watching and taking pictures of everything that was going on. But by the time we were done I could not hear a thing. Actually my ears are still not working quite right. Oh well.

When the firecrackers were finished, around 11, we went and had the rest of the feast. OMG there was so much to eat, and all of it good. When we were done eating everyone just relaxed completely stuffed and sleepy.

It was a good evening, and so nice to be able to enjoy Diwali with a family instead of at the hotel. I was very fortunate.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

035035
035

Yami's Instructor
the men's crackersthe men's crackers
the men's crackers

He kept insisting that the sparklers were the man firecrackers and not the other ones. LOL


29th October 2008

Fun
How awesome that you were able to spend the holiday with the locals! Looks delish! Yum! Now I'm hungry. So have you heard any comments about the United States elections. How is the US perceived?
29th October 2008

politics
Yes I have had many discussions regarding US politics. I'm enjoying hearing different view points.
30th October 2008

Keep the clock!
So glad that you could share the holiday with a local family-it means so much more and the pictures are great! But keep the clock, it gives us something to look forward to:)
1st November 2008

Happy Diwali
Now I wish I was there on Diwali!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb