My love/hate relationship with India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 26th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cock fireworksCock fireworksCock fireworks

Only in India would the fireworks (all boys love them) would they be named this!
Hello everyone,

I am finally out of India. My time volunteering with the mother theresa homes was absolutely amazing and a great finish to my adventure. I met some amazing people and made some great friends. It was too bad that my schedule got cut so short as I only had a few days of volunteering. I spent the days at Prem Dan which was hospital for the mentally ill and handicapped. It was about 75 women that lived there. We started our day off doing laundry the old school way! Rinsing, rinsing, scrubbing and squeezing the water out so the clothes could be hung out to dry. It was quite the process. All of the Indian women like to sing so we would take turns coming up with new songs. They were probably just singing about what a crazy American I was and how they didn't believe I was American because I looked Japanese and my hair was matted and I smelled funny. I felt as though every Indian was thinking this from time to time. :=)

Then we would spend time giving massages or rubbing lotion on the women. I would usually sneak upstairs to my favorite
Hero PharmacyHero PharmacyHero Pharmacy

What a great concept? I wish everyone called us Heros!
two old women and teach them dance moves. They had a radio upstairs and we would always play bollywood music. Although come to think of it, it usually was just me dancing and them laughing. Hmmmm. Story of my life? I had these two ladies that I absolutely adored and we would spend about an hour holding hands and talking to each other. I would usually just make up stories and laugh whenever they did. I had no idea what they would talk to me about. But one of the ladies I think started to think that I was deaf! So whenever she spoke to me she would grabmy head and pull it really close and scream in my ear. It was hilarious. Little did she know that I'm not deaf, I just don't know Bengali! Then the second half of the day would be devoted to feeding. I fed this one lady every day that looked as if her bones had literally been tied into a pretzel. I have no idea how that happened but she was just a pile of skinny mangled limbs that were in all the wrong places. I can't even describe it. But we became pretty good friends, I think. She never spoke to me but I could see it in her eyes that she liked me. I taught her some dance moves too. Well theres always one critic in the bunch and I was not without my enemies at Prem Dan. This one lady was a real treat and I tried my best to get her to like me. I even gave her a second helping of chai one day! Every time I sat next to her she would completely turn her back to me or try to move to a different spot. She even stuck her tongue out at me one time and I tried to give her a hug and I thought she would catapult herself out the window! I will never know why she didn't like me. Maybe she's racist and hates Asians or it might have the butt drop?

I'm in Bangkok tonight and having a hard time b/c I have no money!!! No debit card and noone will give me a cash advance on my VISA. So i'm living off 5 dollars and charging way to much on the credit card. It is great to be in a
VaranasiVaranasiVaranasi

The land of the Hindus
city with no trash and no poop on the streets! Sidewalks and crosswalks with actual lights. Although I stepped outside my hotel and the first thing I saw was an Indian restuarant! Ahhhh. I can't escape it.

I put more pictures up on Flickr and added some to this blog. India is an amazing place and the only place that you can love and hate all at the same time.

See you in the states!
Becca


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

LaundryLaundry
Laundry

Here's our laundry!
The TAJThe TAJ
The TAJ

It really is alot smaller than people think.
Buddha buddhaBuddha buddha
Buddha buddha

The place where Buddha gave his first sermon.
??
?

A temple or fort or mosque? They all start to look the same.
Prayer flagsPrayer flags
Prayer flags

One of them was asking Buddha for a new donkey. I love India.
ElephantsElephants
Elephants

Yes. Elephants do just roam the streets but usually they just cart lazy tourists up to the tops of mountains!
Sad TrixxiSad Trixxi
Sad Trixxi

This was a close as Trixxi got to the TAJ. I tried to sneak her on but almost lost a limb trying so we had to sneak her around the back -hence the barbed wire in the shot@! Bummer
My most expensive purchase.My most expensive purchase.
My most expensive purchase.

Who would have thought it would be a rug? This man promised that if I brought it back in 30 years he would replace it with two rugs!
Special TeaSpecial Tea
Special Tea

In some cities we could only drink beer out of teapots and teacups. WoW. This was actually not bad b/c most places just didn't allow alcohol at all. You could stoned for cracking a beer.
TrixxiTrixxi
Trixxi

Everybody loves Trixxi - although these guys thought she was a penguin.
Kite runnerKite runner
Kite runner

this shot reminded me of that awesome book
PushkarPushkar
Pushkar

Our first thunder lightning storm rolled in right as we mounted our camels


Tot: 0.319s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb