What a nice tour


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 19th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow, talk about worn out!

I met a friend who works in New Delhi for lunch today. We decided to meet at the Imperial Hotel, let me tell you that it is a very nice hotel. It's so clean and quiet. The smell of jasmine greets you at the door. I felt a little shabby to be honest, but it didn't stop me. By the time Jim and I met up I didn't want to leave the hotel, I thought to my self "that's it I'm staying here!" But I did leave and thankfully I did the rooms are reasonably priced at around $600 a night. That's ok my motel 6 equivelant has room service! :P

Ok enough with that.

We went to Qutab Minar which is the tallest brick minaret in Delhi. It was built in the 1100s. Unfortunately I don't think that the pictures do it justice by any means. The stone carvings that adorn the Qutab Minar and the rest of the structures here are so intricate. I found that I was in awh at how delicate the carvings were, especially since they were carved from stone.

A little ways off is a pillar
Qutab MinarQutab MinarQutab Minar

it's the tallest minaret in Delhi
named the Iron Pillar. Tradition states that if you can encircle the entire column with your arms, with your back towards the pillar, then you can have your wish granted. It would have been fun to try but unfortunately the pillar is surrounded by a low gate to help preserve it.

The grounds surrounding the Qutab complex is filled with families and tourists but it is so quiet and serene. It was a welcome retreat for my ears. I think I will go back when I need a break.

After Jim and I explored the grounds we took a rickshaw to Humayun Tomb. It may look similar to the Taj Mahal in structure and that is because the architect took his inspiration from Humayun Tomb when the Taj was commissioned. I enjoyed it here, like the other monuments it was quiet and clean. But my favorite part of this place was all of the parots that call this place home. It seems like they wait for you to take their picture too.

All in all I had a great time walking around New Delhi with my friend, it was kinda nice. Plus I got to see so much of the area. I am worn out but that means I will sleep well.





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

wishing pillarwishing pillar
wishing pillar

legend says that if you can reach your arms around the this pillar with your back to it you will have good luck or great wealth,
Qutab Minar Qutab Minar
Qutab Minar

I like this shot with the sun behind it.


20th October 2008

Book me!
Wow $600/night? That's my monthly house payment The pics look lovely! I want to visit India now too! Jen
20th October 2008

nice pictures!
I'm glad you had a good tour. It looks beautiful! That's a nice picture of you. I can't wait to hear about your first day of class. ;) (hint, hint)

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb