A great family dinner


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
August 16th 2008
Published: August 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rooftop PatioRooftop PatioRooftop Patio

This was the best part of the house! I have to get one of these. At one end of the patio there is this covered sitting area with a well stocked bar and a few speakers for music. It's a great place to relax with a drink or have tea in the morning.
Last night I was invited to Sandeep's family house for dinner. His family lives in a beautiful house in a very nice part of town. I met his mom and dad, aunt, sister and her daughter and his cousin and her son. All were very kind and welcoming people. The house was really cool with a lot of attention to details and was built by his grandfater in 1966 who was a lawyer.

I first sat in the formal sitting room and met everyone and told them a little bit about my trip so far. Then I felt right at home when they showed me up to the sitting area on the rooftop patio / garden area and fixed me a johnnie walker black with soda. The whole family came up and we sat for about two hours having some drinks, munching on appetizers and getting to know eachother. At about 10:30 we went down to the dining room for dinner where they served some different kinds of breads cooked with cheese and spices, a spicy tomato soup and a chicken biriyani (rice mixture). All were extremely good! I ate with a spoon but it was cool too to see
Main staircaseMain staircaseMain staircase

Cool windows and a cabinet with antique looking things in the bottom middle.
the way they ate the food with their hands, very practiced motions that easily get all the food and sauce with really only using the tips of two fingers. I could not have done it as well. I've also found that it's not very common to have a napkin while eating or something to drink either. A drink is usually not needed since there is some kind of soup or sauce served with the meal. After dinner we went back to the inside sitting room and they served a dessert that was like a little warm donut in a syrup, very tasty. They asked a lot of questions about Atlanta and we also talked some more about the rest of my/our trip.

They mentioned that until about ten years ago, Bangalore was a nice quiet city, a great place to live and that the traffic hasn't always been this way. Apparently the growth coming from the technology industry took everyone by surprise and has made it almost impossible for the infrastructure to keep pace with the growth. They joked that Bangalore isn't about to burst at the seams, it has already burst a long time ago.

By the
The LibraryThe LibraryThe Library

This is the library of the house. The cabinets are really cool and all have little glass doors. Still in the cabinets are some of Sundeep's grandfather's legal books and papers.
time I left I was really pretty tired from talking so much but also grateful for the hospitality and great food, a really great memory. I only wish that Amanda had been along tonight, I think she would have really enjoyed it. But she'll be here tomorrow night and then I'll be able to report on her impressions.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

SundeepSundeep
Sundeep

Here's a photo of Sundeep standing at the other end of the library, scotch in hand!
GrandfatherGrandfather
Grandfather

Here is a display area in the formal sitting room that pays tribute to Sundeep's grandfather who also built the house. Below is a picture I think of his grandmother from his mother's side.
Formal sitting roomFormal sitting room
Formal sitting room

The house had a lot of little details that might not notice at first, like the carved wooden vent areas at the top of the windows. The style was humble but still elegant.
Dining RoomDining Room
Dining Room

This is where we all sat down to eat. No formality to it, just help yourself!
Prayer RoomPrayer Room
Prayer Room

This is the prayer room just off the dining room


16th August 2008

I am jealous!
You know me well:) I would have love to have gone. I can't wait to meet Sandeep at the wedding.
16th August 2008

nice job
JB- nice job on the comentary--I am reallly enjoying reading your blog. It's something to look forward to every morning when I log onto my computer--hmmmm let's see what jb is up to.....love the pictures too. Sounds like a wonderful adventure so far--can't wait to hear from Amanda too. Keep up the good work and interesting stories!! Love, jojo

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb