Update on Life in Kolkata


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
November 20th 2006
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Thanks so, so much for all the updates. I really appreciate it..
Well, where do I start??!!! The last few weeks have been quite hectic that I feel as if months have passed.. I have been working very hard and also getting unexpected news from Ireland didn't help matters..

Back to the 25th of October when I arrived in Darjeeling.. The train was 10.5 hrs night journey so got bit of sleep. When we got off the train it was very warm, and I was wondering WHAT 'cold' people were talking about... However, we were 4 hours from the Mountains.. Constant up hill climb in a jeep with 2 other couples (one of the couples were in my carriage on train - a Medical Scientist / hobby:Coin collecting (there for Conference) and his wife. Lovely couple, 27 yrs, from Calcutta..

In Darjeeling I was mesmorised by its beauty - Wow - Mountains, Greenery, Snow peaks, monkeys...It is a gorgoeous place that I would definitely go back to. The people were lovely and lots smiles etc.. HUGE contrast to being stared at in Calcutta! They had beautiful facial features too..
The first day we walked UP hill and DOWN hill and walked and walked.. I dont think there was ANY flat land!! BEST exercise for anyone.. I was proud of myself for keeping up with 5 French people who are 9 years younger than me!!
The next morning we got up at 3.30am to go to Tiger Hill which is the Viewing Point for Sunrise over Mount Everest. Of Course, I tripped and went flying along the footpath when heading to meet jeep. Cut both knees and hands. It was like a convoy of jeeps to a certain point and then you walk to the top, in the Dark. Well, all I can say is that It was Magical. I still dream about the views from there.. Wow.. Some locals said it hadn't been that clear for a while. Mount Everest was SO clear.. YOU can imagine the photos I took.. I could do a collage of them!
Also, visited Botanical Gradens, Tea Plantations, Monasteries, Temples, Refugee Centre etc etc.. LOTS walking. After the 1st day I had Pains in my legs..
The NIGHTS were FREEZING.. like Siberia.. I had tshirt, pjs, socks and big woolly hat on in my sleeping bag .. and was SO cold that I barely left room at the top of the sleeping bag for air to get into me..
Funniest was seeing locals in hats, Big coats, scarfs, rugs, blankets wrapped around them on the streets AND THENNNN wearing flipflops (with socks)..
On my last morning I visited a Home for Abused children, run by a lady from Cork. It was sad to hear some of the stories But great to see the work she does there..

Back in Calcutta on 28th andddddd I have seen a DIFFERENT Calcutta since that trip.. The Medical Scientist (Ujjwal) had a Gold Coin Exhibition on 29th and I got written invite. Lots top scholars and the Education Minister etc there. Met people who earn more money than I do!! Strange for me after working with poor and living with poor every time I am here.. NOW I saw the city in a Different light. I LOVE the city now!! One man I met is one of the main Gold coin dealers in Bengal. He does lots charity work too.. After the exhibition he took Ujjwal, Ujjwal's wife, me and an English man (married to the niece of the DALAI LAMA!!!) to a LOVELY restaurant.. During that meal they were asking me about places I had seen in the city AND Couldnt Believe I hadn't seen most places they named (and my 3rd time here!!)..

WELL, THAT changed rapidly....On the Tuesday I was collected at 2pm and taken ALL around the city for 5 hours ON A MOTORBIKE (With the Coin Dealer, Sandip). Amazing time. Since then I have been to orphanages, met his police friends, ate in best restaurants and drank whiskey!!, been to the cinema for free.. etc etc..

The manager of the Cinema is allowing me to take lots of the kids from 'THE Bridge Foundation' to the cinema for Christmas, so all heading there on 28th December. He also left me STUCK FOR WORDS the other day. He took me to an Orphanage (with over 1000 kids..) and THEN asked me to consider setting up and running an orphanage for him, if he gave me the land. I was NEVER so shocked. What a privilege to be asked Buttttt I have to think about it.. TOO much committment and time... Any advice for me??

I also met the coin dealers family last Friday and was shocked to see a gold chain with pearls and diamonds AND 2 gold rings which his wife bought that morning - worth over 1000Euro!! I was near afraid to handle it!!

Anyway, Since Darjeeling, I have handed out the wheelchairs and toothbrushes to the kids in the DAY Care Centre - A lovely morning with them and their parents ... even though they have no English!! I also purchased a Jeep load of materials - copies of several types, rulers, pens, pencils, geometry sets, drawing paper ... - for the children in 'The Bridge Foundation'. I insisted on GOOD quality copies and materials and was very happy with them. I got a Big Trunk with a lock for one of the Centres as there are ants and would eat books!! I also gave more money to continue on the Food Programme that I started in February. I haven't the exact amount on me now, as left Accounts book at house.. I feel like an accountant at night balancing out costs etc as don't always carry Charity money with me and use my own.. Wrecks my head at times.. Dont worry, all balancing well..

I have also set up sponsorship for a 17 year old girl who is from a very poor family and can't pay for her education up until April when she does her finals.. The amount is less than the sum that my sister and her boyfriend donated so they are taking claim of that. Her father is dead and her mother earns Rs. 400 per month ... Remember Rs.56 equals €1!!!! Her mother rang me Saturday and was SO grateful that she brought tears to my eyes.. The girl also suffers with bad headaches so Sandip (Coin dealer) has organised appointments with top doctors for her. I will meet her at Christmas when I return from my trip up North..

The Tibal Village (Where teach under the Trees) - I head there at 8am tomorrow for presentation of materials that I purchased already! I met the man who set up the organisation and 4 of his Volunteer teachers on Saturday to go to the markets... I was VERY stressed after it as got dehydrated, hungry and tired ... from walkiing for 4 hours in busiest Market in Asia (so I'm told..). Bought chart papers, markers,crayons, portable blackboards and whiteboards, a water filter for the office where kids with special needs are taken, skipping ropes, 48 slates (to write on - No Copies!!), chalk etc.. Getting them a portable phone for office and a big iron cabinet (with lock) tomorrow. Looking forward to my day in the village as ALL Volunteer teachers will be there in the morning and then when education starts about 2pm (when kids return from schools) the children are all having a feast for me.. It's SO peaceful there as only transport is bicycles or motorbikes..

NOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW, You are probably wondering why I have not said much about Asha Niketan..What can I say?? ... I was working EXTREMELY hard for them in the Office etc.. and took Ujjwal (medical scientist) to Asha Niketan with lots of antibiotics and medicines.... ANDDD also Sandip spent over Rs.10,000 to provide food for us all on the 36 hour train to Bangalore on the 5th.... All through my contacts..
Well, since then Sankar has been horrible to me - asked him why (on train to Bangalore) and he never said a word to me since.. The assistants noticed this and were so nice to me - Said he is probably jealous that I now have other male friends in Calcutta - Doesn't make sense!! Whatever it is I don't know.. I couldn't have done more for them, as having people in Calcutta to support them is better than any Foreign person..Because of his behaviour I came back to Calcutta early with 2 others who were returning anyway.. It was less than €10 for 36 hour train - Would be that for 1 hour in Ireland!!

I am delighted now that I came back as have been working non-stop every day since and got LOADS done.. I also had time to organise things for the children at Christmas, when I return from my travel up North. Can't believe I will be on trip this day next week, as paid for it in Jul.

ALSOOOO, today when I went to put the TV and DVD into the cabinet that I had got made ... the DVD player was missing.. I was SO SO mad... No one knows where it is... Told them that I will be out with the 2 girls (Jude and Grace who arrive tomorrow) on Wednesday and want to see it ... or there'll be words...

I WAS upset about leaving the house today BUTTTT after that I was Glad... I have moved back into the house with the family I lived with in Jan/Feb .. and also for 6 days a few wks ago.. because Jude and Grace arrive Tues night.. Girls, I wanted you to have a toilet to sit on (instead of squatting) and also a shower (even though cold.. but nicer than a bucket and jug!!)..I should have moved there before as only €3 a night and more central - Wont break my Visa Acc!!

Girls, be prepared for a busy 4 days before we fly to Delhi.. On Wednesday I have organised to give you a shock!! Taking you to the school in the Rubbish Dump, then Asha Niketan (both in poor areas) and then to Park Street (posh area) and to see the dancing fountains in the eve - so beautiful.. water displays to rhythm of music..

One last point to make you laugh after LONG update..... Picture me on programme "YOU'VE been framed" .. Every night when I went to the bathroom to wash it was like a swarm of mosquitos in there... You can picture me swinging my towel in alllllll directions for ages before I could even think of washing.. If anyone outside saw me they would think I was killing an invisible person.. as get SO mad with the stupid insects... It's SO bad that the French people NOW refer to me as the Mosquito Restaurant.. WONT miss that tonight in the Gomes' house. Can RElax when I wash now!!

Any advice about Orphanage, or anyone interested in doing it, let me know...Take care all of you, Best Wishes, Elaine

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb