Update on Life in Kolkata


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
October 21st 2006
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi All, I hope you are all well. Thanks so much for all the lovely mails but my sincerest apologies that I have not replied to all yet.. Notime..
Before I start with the next update I want to apologise for such detailed emails and being a perfectionist. If it was me who made a donation to someone I would want to know Exactly how it was used and for what purposes. You trusted me with the donations and I owe it to you all to explain how and where itis spent..

So far, I have withdrawn RS.15000 .... (56 Rupees is €1 ... so you can work outcosts!!)
On 29 Sept I treated 10 of the members to a train ride at the Carnival and they loved it - 135 Rupees
On 17 Oct I purchased a Colour TV for ThakurBari (The AshaNiketan Home I live in) as I noticed that there was a TV in the 2nd House and none in the one I am based in- 8200 Rupees
I also bought a Philips DVD player to go with this (and also to use to listen to CDs)- 3000 Rupees
I then ordered a Harmonium (like piano with accordian at back..) for Asha Niketan for when they have get togethers, as the members love to listen to someone play it and to dance. Some of the members are great dancers, despite having disabilities..This will cost 8000 Rupees, so I paid a deposit on it. Then on 19th Oct I went to visit the Ladies in both F.O.K.E (Friend's ofKolkata's Elderly) Homes and took 23 pieces of pastries and sweets (for staff too) and that was 123 Rupees. I hope you dont mind me doing something Small like that BUTTTT you should have seen how happy they were. I got hugs and kisses. It was touching ... and all for a small treat..
The change is put aside for the moment. I hope to get a Cupboard with a lock on Monday morning for the TV. Until then the TV is put away safely in a spare room... I will then withdraw more money when I go to collect the Harmonium on 1st November.

That day I am also meeting the Man who founded the school in the Tribal Village - We are going to purchase a tape recorder, chartpaper, wax crayons, and markers. They had a meeting a decided that it is still better to make their own posters as life is quite different in the Tribal village and posters from the city would be unsuitable.. Also I am going to get them a battery for their laptop. The laptop was given to them by an Indian man who lives in Yorkshire, UK now. They mainly use solar light in the villages and do not have enough power to run laptop on electricity. I offered to get a battery (2000 Rupees) for them. I think I mentioned in the last update that they need a Speaker system ...well, Somnath told me that a man in the village is going to attempt to make one. I will buy one if that doesnt work.. BUTTT Never question the Indian people. They ALWAYS have a way around things - Would put us to shame!! If any of you have problems with how I am spending donations, please tell me ORRRRRR if any of you have SPECIAL requests, please feel free to ask.

Marian, I had an amazing time in Chhatua village (near Sunderban Islands) choosing children to sponsor. Am going to sponsor one myself now too. I went to the school first and looked at all results from Class 5 to see who did very well.Then the headmaster looked at them and we took note of those with very good results but from v poor families. I gave him 1 of the cameras for the school and a spare film to keep. He was very happy.
Then, We headed off on foot to visit the homes of 6 that we chose, through tracks down through fields too.. Beautiful scenery and so peaceful - NO horns blowing CONSTANTLY like in Calcutta!! It was amazing to sit in their ONE roomed homes and see inside them. They were all Mud homes and had one large bed (A Board - used as a seat in the day!!) .. That's one MAIN thing about India - When you visit someone's home, you are actually sitting in their bedroom, on their bed, as that is the seat!! I think it's funny and always imagine me taking a group of people to my bedroom at home to sit on my bed and be served a cup of tea...
Anyway, I interviewed the parents (School Co-Ordinator translating for me...) asking about job, family members.. Asked child few questions then and am getting copies of their recent exam results delivered to me on 30th. The girl I chose for you to sponsor came 21st out of 220 in her last exams.. Her father has a large tumour on his forehead and they have no money to get operation. He is also diabetic and cant eat rice and potato (MAIN food).. and hard for them to get bread.. The mother works as a house maid cleaning for 2 hours Every morning of the month and doesn't even earn €5..A month!! She hugged me and had tears in her eyes when told her why I was there. The girl was so happy and said she wont leave school and wants to be a teacher.. It was like they won the lotto. Took photos of each family I met and will have copies of their exam results if anyone else wants to sponsor a child.. (About €50 a YEAR).. The boy I chose wants to be a doctor and very clever too..

I have not been feeling the best some days but have to keep going. The night in Chhatua village I got an infection in my left hand and was all like blisters - Nandu said it was probably from dirty water (Which is a bit hard to avoid!!). The skin peeled off 3 fingers.. Had to take 'Indian' Tablet and pile cream on it.. Better now!

Was awake most of Wednesday night scratching a bite on my arm and left myself with red patch and (like) blood shot all up my arm! Disaster.. Then Thursday night I kept getting up thinking I was going to be sick.. I'm a nightmare!! LOTS of people sick here with the weather changing.. Not as humid but still very warm! LOTS Thunder storms that would deafen you. Never knew thunder could be SO loud - when it rains here there are floods in minutes. unreal!! Two people killed with lightning on Wednesday with dreadful storm. The flashes would hit the ground in front of you. Very scarey! ...

Think I am adjusting to all now as feel better today... WILL feel like 5 Star Accomodation when I go home!! Will probably take me 2 hours to shave my legs too!! SAFER not to do it here as will only make my bites worse.. Anyway, Indian women don't shave at all as legs Never shown.. so I just blend in.. Also blend in by eating with my hands. Think I have only used a fork twice.. I often think of the phrase when I was a child, like "What is your fork for??" Well, I nearly burned the tops off my fingers the other day when went to mash the potato with my fingers - THAT'S why we need forks in Ireland - Potatoes being main food!

I went to 'The Bridge Foundation' (Homework Centre) Monday and Wednesday this week. The school they attend "Loreto DAY School Sealdah" is STILL closed since the Durga Puja and only opens 30th.. The children come to study for exams in November though.. Yesterday, NO1 turned up as Another Festival today - The Kali Puja. Known as the festival of Light - Lots beautiful Pandals (temples) built again and lights Everywhere, bangers and fireworks.. They are SOOO loud that they would put the heart crossways in you!! I am going to Rakhi's (Asha Niketan's Community Leader) Friend's house with her tonight and it is an all night party of light displays etc.. Other than that, I dont know what to expect..

When, I was walking here now I saw a lady cooking chicken feet in a pot. MAY take back what I said the last day about using all bits except feet. Yuck!!

Have seen a few rats last few days. They must come up after the rain.. Saw one run into a house off the street and saw one run along beside where children were asleep on the footpath.. They must have Great immune systems..Often see children rolling along paths and playing - Anything could be on path!!

On Tuesday, I was heading to get an autorickshaw to Asha Niketan (from family house, which I actually left today!) and my flipflop broke.. Disaster!! I had to walk through the market for about 5mins and watch where put my feet.. Disgusting! The auto driver ended up taking me to the door of A.N. as would have had another 5mins walk at other side. I NEVER scrubbed my Feet SO hard before!! Then piled Tea tree spray onto them incase caught something.. They were laughing at me in the house when saw me arrive in bare feet - Said I was being like the ones along the street!!

Anyway, I am going to head here now. Have been in Office for over 7 hours some days this week and sick of computers. Very interesting typing up Case Files on Co-members and letters for Manager BUT I get very lonely there all day on my own and not having contact with the members like I wanted. Still pile to type week after next and will be at it for hours to get done so hopefully can work in DAY Care and Workshop for few days too..

Regards, Elaine

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb