American Consulate visit


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
February 2nd 2008
Published: February 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mosquito netting upMosquito netting upMosquito netting up

My daughters' asked for a pic with the mosquito netting up
Well, Friday I got to hear from Mike and from out daughters on the phone! There was an ice storm at home, sidewalks and roads covered, so schools were closed. They were able to call--finally got the number right (seems I'd left a '6' off when i typed it in!). Good to hear their voices.

Earlier in the day, I wandered around campus in a direction opposite to what I'd been already--found the Adult and Continuing Education Building and the University Bookstore.

Late afternoon, we had an appointment with the American Consul General. A very nice visit, pleasant chat for 40 minutes or so about education and partnerships to improve educational situations in India. Tea and chocolate chip cookies! We were allowed to take pictures outside afterwards. The Consul General is a community college alumnus, having taken a personal interest course during one of his stateside assignments, as was his administrator (from Washington State who began her college career with cc).

Afterwards, we went to the Fine Arts Center, to several art exhibits. At the first, we were able to assist with theinauguration of the event and Mr. Jafar was kind enough to show me his artwork and tell me about the pieces.

Expecting a full Saturday, we called it an 'early' night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Approach to the Guest HouseApproach to the Guest House
Approach to the Guest House

along the driveway in front of the Guest House
On-site housingOn-site housing
On-site housing

for faculty and staff and families, I believe.
Phone boothPhone booth
Phone booth

More a phone room--three phones, 2 of which dial overseas. there's a running total as you talk and then it prints out to the man at the desk, to whom you pay the fee. Very simple process that works!
Trash canTrash can
Trash can

around campus--i find these very whimsical! Can't imagine where they're from.
University Outpost?University Outpost?
University Outpost?

The "unofficial" bookstore? I went in the official bookstore--very nice selection--and bought a tee shirt and postcards.
Work1Work1
Work1

They fill the basket for him
Work2Work2
Work2

He carries it to the truck...
Work3Work3
Work3

and empties the dirt. By the time he walks to the back of the truck, where the digging goes on, they have another basket full for him!
Working on the Econ buildingWorking on the Econ building
Working on the Econ building

My exchange partner's office is in here--because of the construction (roof collapsed), they're being temporarily housed in the Adult Ed Building.
Police StandPolice Stand
Police Stand

We have FedEx field; they have Sama Resort Police Booth!
American Consul General and groupAmerican Consul General and group
American Consul General and group

Outside (under cover so a bit dark)
Art Exhibit with painter S.A.JafarArt Exhibit with painter S.A.Jafar
Art Exhibit with painter S.A.Jafar

Mr. Jafar was kind enough to show me his work and talk to me about his thoughts and inspiration. I also got him to sign my program!
art exhibitart exhibit
art exhibit

The group of us
Opening of the ExhibitOpening of the Exhibit
Opening of the Exhibit

We were honored to be asked to help open the exhibit by lighting some of the candles.
Nandan Film CenterNandan Film Center
Nandan Film Center

Show movies but don't make them--that's in a couple weeks in Bollywood!
One of the Exhibit organizersOne of the Exhibit organizers
One of the Exhibit organizers

Now that's a badge that identifies a person as someone who can help you!


2nd February 2008

Hello from JU
Hello Mike, It's good to see my univ in a place where I never expected to be seen.Btw,I am a student of JU doing my BE in mech engg,also my dad is prof. in mech engg. dept here.I often go through the travel blogs here,I just like to go through them. So I was pleasantly surprised today to see this.Also,my own uncle is a citizen in USA,in Virginia.So,I got quite a lot of co-incidences coming my way.My dad has personal contacts with pro VC of JU,so he was also surprised to see him on your blog.Truly,it's a small world now.Anyways,it was good to hear from you.Enjoy your stay in our city. Take care, Gaurav Majumdar.

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb