the adventure begins


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
December 8th 2006
Published: December 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I am writing this from an internet cafe/whatever you want to call it in Kolkata India. Before I divulge into the details of this madness of India (I know you are all laughing of those who have been here when you reflect on how the first moments felt arriving here) I will explain why we are not in Delhi!

Yesterday we were to get on our plane in the early morning at 2am to Delhi. I had booked my ticket already in BKK but Jen had not. We went to get her's yesterday and for some reason "it is not going today"... So we wanted to get the hell out of BKK and start our adventure so with much anticipation we asked, well where can we go today in India. It is 11:30am at this time, our bags are at our guesthouse 10mins away. The nice helpful Thai woman says, today to Kolkata at 2:30pm! Jen and I look at eachother, umm do you think we can make it? Yes! Of Course can, anything is possible! As I am waiting for tickets to be processed Jenifir is running to buy us scarfs and a long t-shirt for her as we are unprepared. Bartering a good deal on clothes, and arguing with taxi drivers and I am in a hurry I still do not want to get riped off! So...we had "good luck" and had a great taxi driver to drove us to the Shanti and then to the airport. (By the way, the new airport in BKK is really cool looking, kinda like the Osaka airport.) You know those idiots who are running madly through the airport to make it to their plane...ahhh yes this is us!

We arrived in Kolkata safe and sound. We met a girl from Alaska to share the taxi with and well, let's just say we are glad we ditched her! The airport is really not much, and it wasn't the onslaught I thought it was going to be.

Jenifir and I were trying to take pictures flying in but the smog is something I have NEVER experienced before. We are landing and we can barely see the ground- seriously yuck! My nose is stuffed, I feel like I just hacked a million smokes~

Okay so I would love to have pictures to show you of how crazy it is here but I am afraid you have to come to India to experience it yourself. I will try with words: MADNESS! hahahah okay no seriously. This is what comes to mind: loud, VERY loud, I am surprised horns still have a life in them after a week in a new car in India, driving is totally crazy, stinks like urine and garbage and yummy chair, curry and spices all at the same time, you are soo aware you are a woman, the toilet is a problem-where do we go? and yes if in doubt ask the man with a gun, he is more than willing to help you out-gracious really. ohh and do I mention the poverty of division of classes-beautiful condos beside shit hole slums you can't even begin to believe people can survive in a such a place. little naked kids living on the street taking care of eachother. you want to scoop them up and take them away. officially we are turning our hearts off to this.

we walked downtown today and thought we were going to get killed many times crossing the road. we met a nice guy from Spain who is "showing us the ropes"!

tonight we leave for Varanassi as there isn't much yoga here, and it's not really our cup of tea. we would rather hang out in a holy city. So Varanassi we come.

ohhh and the chai-yummmmm

i am hoping this all finds you well and thank you for your thoughts and prayers because we seriously have had some gooooood luck so far with many things.
lots of love from afar.
namaste~
k&j

Advertisement



8th December 2006

Nice going!!
Sounds like you girls are having an awesome adventure already and it's only been a few days!! Keep safe and I hope you find a special, calmish place to enjoy yourselves. Look forward to the next update. Take care, Kristen
9th December 2006

sacred cows and sugar pretzels
Hey Kim, Sweet tales from the the land of the sacred cow! I miss the all the horns and noise.. no wait no i don't ...ok maybe i do ... I am confused but i guess that is what india can do to ones senses..watch out for those pink sugar pretzels!! Ok got to finish packing for tomorrows trip to the pass .. will make some turns for you kim

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb