Ayervedic Massage in the Cold


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
October 31st 2002
Published: October 31st 2002
Edit Blog Post

When we arrived in Darjeeling it was getting dark, but the map in the Rough Guide seemed to indicate it would be quite close to walk to the Tibetan Guesthouse near the TV tower, checking places on the way - Wrong! We walked up quite steep hills for quite a while and the guesthouses we saw on the way were full. It turned out that we couldn't find the place, but it was a lot higher up the hill and we ended up staying at a Indian hotel for the night. The hot shower was nice, and they even brought some food to our room, but I felt a little strange with my dirty pack and travel clothes. We checked out the next morning into the dorm at the Tibetan place.
Darjeeling was quite a lot colder than I expected, but time has been ticking on since I was last up in the Indian Hill stations. I took a couple of Ayervedic massages where the extremities of my body got quite cold (hands and feet), and felt very relaxed and well charged after them. Santosh from Kerala was a great teacher and wanted to give me lessons, but I decided it was too cold to be sitting around with not much on.
I walked around Darjeeling for a couple of days and it was very full of Indian tourists. There was also pretty bad diesel fumes in the middle of town from all the Jeeps.
One morning I got up extra specially early and saw the sunrise from Tiger Hill. It hits the peak of Kachenjunga (3rd highest peak in the world) which is quite spectacular and well worth the getting up early.
Given the temperature I didn't stick around Darjeeling long, but took and Jeep down to Siliguri and decided to get a night bus to Kolkata.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0172s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb