Cost of "Stuff".


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
March 14th 2009
Published: March 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It’s often interesting to hear about the costs of things in other countries so here are few things for you. Remember that there are about 30-32 rupees to the dollar.
1 hour on the internet - 30rp.
1 small kit-kat - 5rp.
A cup of street chai - 7rp.
A good cup of REAL coffee - 25rp.
375mls of local whisky (tastes O.K.) - 92rp.
500grms of those delicious little sweet cakes - 85rp.
A Thai feast for 5 in a little restaurant (my birthday) - about 1000rp.
Naturally everything seems incredibly inexpensive, but then the average person here would earn so little that these things would be luxuries.

An interesting hairdressing experience.
I decided that my hair colour needed doing and after having hunted high and low (in Darjeeling take that expression literally) I went to a small local place just up the street from where I now live. I sat on a tiny stall in the middle of a very small room with a bed and a mirror in it and had my colour put on. I was then left alone, slowly freezing to death for 40 minutes while the colour took. At this stage I was looking for were the wash basin was. I was soon to find out that there wasn’t one. In came the “hairdresser” and after she had put a plastic sheet on the pillow of the bed, motioned for me to lie down. So, I am lying on the bed, she is sitting on the small stall by my head and then proceeds to put jugs of warm water from a bucket onto my hair, which then runs down the plastic into another bucket . Believe me this felt extremely odd! At the end of it my hair colour was done, although she left it on too long and I now look a dull grey colour and I have decided that next time I will check out the wash basin first.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb