My walk to school


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
March 8th 2009
Published: March 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Reading in bedReading in bedReading in bed

This was me pre sleeping bag. Don't need the jacket or the hat now, but everything else!
6th March
This week I started working at what will be my school for the next 10 weeks. The walk there was amazing and I was worried that I would ever be able to find my way back, although in Darjeeling, I have worked out that if I get lost, I go up and eventually will find somewhere I know! And of course in the back of my mind was, that if going to school we walked steeply down, then coming back from school, I must have to walk steeply up. Ugh! Never was a truer word spoken. I will end up with legs like an Amazon and lungs like Joan Sutherland. I may not look sexy, but by God I’ll be fit. Wow betide any man who gets betwixt my thighs when I return!!!!
The school has no electricity, concrete floors, ancient wooden benches and desks and virtually no resources. There is also no play area apart from a miniscule patch of dirt, so at break time most of the children stay inside. The staff are lovely and ready to help at any time which is more than can be said for some of the schools where the other volunteers
First day of schoolFirst day of schoolFirst day of school

Two newly sponsored children and their fathers on their way to school.
are working - I have hit pay dirt. I am sure it is a lot easier actually being a teacher too. I am buying everything that I need, pencils, textas, crayons, paper, exercise books, maths games, even scissors as only the principal has a pair. I certainly won’t come back with any money, but it is all going where it should, rather than on shoes and hairdressers so I don’t mind.
I have also bought myself a wonderful -20c sleeping bag and for the first time in Darjeeling, sleep warmly at night. I still wear a long camisole, a merino thermal jumper, thermal leggings and socks, but can now managed without the hat! Oh, I also have a hot water bottle. India, hot? Not here.
Enjoy the photos and keep emailing me. I may not reply immediately as I cannot always get internet, but I will eventually and I do love hearing from you.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The street where I liveThe street where I live
The street where I live

Out of the Majors house and trun right, it soon starts going down quite steeply.
The view.The view.
The view.

Would be good without the cloud. It is sometimes clearer.
StallsStalls
Stalls

Past a small market. The stalls are about 2 square metres. It's not very busy when I am on my way to work.
Past the stablesPast the stables
Past the stables

I had hoped that a horse would be able to take me back when tired, but they are just for children.
The MallThe Mall
The Mall

One of the main shopping areas, they are just setting up the stalls ready for the day.
Steep!Steep!
Steep!

You cannot see just how steep this street is, but down I go....
StepsSteps
Steps

When is gets too steep they put in steps, it also is a bit of a short cut.
Crazy areaCrazy area
Crazy area

This is an area where you seem to take your life into your hands and zip between cars and trucks. It's really smelly too.
Then a flattish street, ahhhh!Then a flattish street, ahhhh!
Then a flattish street, ahhhh!

I call this Chicken street as that is what is mainly sold here. Getting close to school now.
Hindu TempleHindu Temple
Hindu Temple

Turn a corner and go past a small Hindu temple.
A quite streetA quite street
A quite street

Schoolo is just around the corner, coming back up this street is pure hell!
Almost thereAlmost there
Almost there

My school is just down a way on the right.
A welcomeA welcome
A welcome

Some of the children meet me at the school door.
SingingSinging
Singing

They all sing a prayer I think, before school.
My classMy class
My class

The desks are not in rows anymore - my instigation!
ClassroomClassroom
Classroom

They are wondering what this strange person is going to do next I think.
A mix of agesA mix of ages
A mix of ages

More children came toward the end of the week. They will be split into age groups when they all attend.
The teachersThe teachers
The teachers

I think the teachers were just as fascinated as the children, even the principal came in to see what I was doing.
Show man,Show man,
Show man,

Ouch! Don't think Iwould want to do this, especially on a concrete floor.
BeautyBeauty
Beauty

What a face. She is only 2 and will not be in my class nexy week.


8th March 2009

Wonderful photos
Beverley these photos are fantastic. What an amazing place. I will have to read up on it. It looks fascinating and the children are cute. The classroom looks better than I was expecting. I don't know about the cold though. Good job you took your thermals. Take care and God bless Jackie XXXXX

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb