Rishikesh.......my home in another life


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
August 26th 2007
Published: October 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have to dedicate an entire entry to this place as it is so incredibly close to my heart!

Nahdi and I didn't really know where to head next after Amritsar.....I was thinking either Varanasi or Udaipur.....but then after talking to a few locals in the know, we decided to make Rishikesh our final destination in India....and boy did we make the right decision!!!

Rishikesh is said to be the Yoga Capital of India (yes, India in general is the home of Yoga...but as we came to find out, Rishikesh in particular!).

It's where the Himalayas meet the Ganges....so it's an incredibly beautiful and serene place filled with peace, love, tranquility, delicious food, chai tea, groovin sounds, yogi gurus, books, interesting travellers....and just everything you could want for totally chillaxing!

And that is exactly what we did!!

In making our way to Rishikesh, we stopped a night in Haridwar....a place totally buzzing with locals performing their rituals in the Ganges.....it was definately interesting and a sight to see and feel (although a little too chaotic for us who just wanted to chillaxify!).

Rishikesh was our sanctuary!

We met a lovely Canadian guy, Dylan, who practially lived in Rishikesh and he gave us some tips that made our stay incredibly cheap and incredibly fun and chilled!! We had a little family there for 5 days, meeting up for breakfast at 'Ganga View' cafe after the 7am yoga class... sitting around discussing the meaning of life over many a chai and ginger/lemon/honey drinks, while watching the Ganges rush by (taking a few pigs down with it!!).

Our days just flowed from one cafe to another, then to some more yoga classes and occasionally the odd shop, palm reader or astrologer!!

I don't think I've ever been so relaxed....and so comfortable being in a foreign place... it really did just feel like home!

I'd definately recommend Rishikesh to anyone - but especially if you'd like to perfect and develop your yoga! I was getting into asanas I never thought possible and learning so much in the process.

I will for sure be back there again (hopefully soon) as I fell in love with the place and the people. It's one of those places you can just go to for months and completely lose track of time and 'real life'!!! It's probably lucky we
The Ganges in HaridwarThe Ganges in HaridwarThe Ganges in Haridwar

A hype of activity!
had a flight out, otherwise I think I'd still be there for many months to come!!

So this was our last leg of India and everything it had to offer. What a way to end!
Although it isn't a 'goodbye', it's a 'see ya later'...as I'll definately be back!!

So...overall.....I found India to be a mass of contradictions and extremes......

Despite the kamikaze tactics of the drivers who make 7 lanes out of 2 and ignore red lights completely, the insistent horns, crowds of hawkers, the rubbish and moudly smell that would attach itself to me and all my belongings, the men relieving themselves anywhere and everywhere, and the humidity and heat which I was certain was going to melt me into the dirt, there was so much of India that I truly loved and will miss.......
such as......
the bright colours, genuine smiles, the laidback lifesyle, the solitary men ironing on the roadside, the chai tea stands at every corner (and the locals that would love a chat!), the sadhus, the auspiciousness of everything and just the sense of human unity.

So....I made it out of India alive....and feeling more healthy, vibrant and amazing than ever!

Thankyou India for everything you have shown and given to me.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Laxman Jhula BridgeLaxman Jhula Bridge
Laxman Jhula Bridge

Our view from 'Freedom Cafe'
Taking a rest Taking a rest
Taking a rest

with 'Ganga' behind us


Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb