Rishikesh 27th/28th November


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
November 28th 2006
Published: November 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Bridge Across the 'Mother Ganga'Bridge Across the 'Mother Ganga'Bridge Across the 'Mother Ganga'

Bridge across the 'Mother Ganga'
Ashley and I moved to separate hotels yesterday, I think we were getting in eachother's shoes a bit. Anyway, it's all good now. For the last two evenings i've been going to a singalong religious ceremony by the water, it's great fun - very lively and fantastic music! I met a boy 2 days ago, he just hobbled past me (as one of his legs is badly damaged) I thought he was going to ask for money but he just came past and sat next to me. He has no family and just lives on the streets, it's really sad... I have been spending time with him and gave him my socks yesterday.. Last night I nearly got horned by a cow - moved out the way just in time!
Walked up to a fantastic temple today, up about 20 flghts of stairs, just an amazing view... After lunch I bought some 'street pop-corn' and then almost got mauled by about 6 monkeys, it was kinda scary for a few seconds - just threw it at them!

Unfortuntaly my card was damaged by someone putting my pics onto their computer a few days ago. It is really annoying and have
Mother Ganga's BoatMother Ganga's BoatMother Ganga's Boat

Mother Ganga's Boat
had to buy another card. I cannot justify not taking any pics so just have to bite the bullet and spend!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

SunsetSunset
Sunset

Sunset over 'Mother Ganga'
Shiva in the 'Mother Ganga'Shiva in the 'Mother Ganga'
Shiva in the 'Mother Ganga'

This is Shiva in the 'Mother Ganga' that sits before the celebration.
The celebrationThe celebration
The celebration

The Celebration - I am not sure what else to call it; it consists of lots of singing, musical instruments, massive get together - loads of energy!
The celebration 2The celebration 2
The celebration 2

A better picture
BoysBoys
Boys

These boys are the main 'choir' section if you like.
Some BabasSome Babas
Some Babas

Some Babas by the 'Mother Ganga'
Me and a calfMe and a calf
Me and a calf

Me and a calf in the street.
Me and a calfMe and a calf
Me and a calf

Me and the calf in the street again.
Sonnai and ISonnai and I
Sonnai and I

The is the boy Sonnai who I met...alot of sad story's around..
View from the templeView from the temple
View from the temple

View from the temple in Rishikesh.
The templeThe temple
The temple

The temple that the view is from.
Feeding the cows.Feeding the cows.
Feeding the cows.

Feeding the cows in the morning.
A wandering cow.A wandering cow.
A wandering cow.

A wandering cow.
Colours at sunsetColours at sunset
Colours at sunset

Colours at sunset.


Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb