A walk to the Ganga.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Haridwar
April 4th 2009
Published: April 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post


At last this morning, I managed to get up in time for 6a.m. chai and then head off on my walk to the holy Ganga River, with one of the Ashram dogs for company. It was still beautifully cool and the light was wonderful. I only saw a few people on the way, but each time I did they would either say or make the hand sign for Namaste. It is so gentle and friendly here.

After 20 minutes, there was the Ganga. It was very peaceful with only a few people about. A woman washing her cooking utensils, a young girl rinsing her hands, a few men cleaning their teeth and bathing.
I sat on a large stone and splashed some of the water on my face, it’s what you do. I didn’t take a sip of it though, which you are also supposed to do - just in case.

On the way home a passed a team of bullocks heading off to the fields and couldn’t resist some photos. I always ask but have never been told, no.

I got back in time for a quick bucket shower and then breakfast. A perfect start to the day.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



3rd August 2010

They put eye make-up on children coz it is a tradition, it is also said to be good for the eyes. I enjoyes going thru ur blogs, love yer optimism and sense of humour. u r gorgeous.

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb