The Ashram.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Haridwar
April 4th 2009
Published: April 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Where to begin? This place exudes kindness.

I arrived quite late and was met by Swapna with tiny Sita in her arms. Sita came to the Ashram just a couple of weeks old. She was premature and tiny. Swapna is an American who runs the place while Rashmi (another American) is in Delhi with the older group children. Although ‘runs’ the place is probably not the correct term as everyone does their bit with no feelings of hierarchy.

My room is large with 2 beds, 2 ceiling fans and en ensuite bathroom, with a door into the inner area (it’s built around an internal covered courtyard) and a door to the wide balcony that runs around the building. Only problem - squat toilet! But my second day here and my butt is beginning to accept it instead of seizing up in an attitude of “no way man!” like it did at first.

The visitors who are staying here are a little different/alternative, certainly not your Burnside Village set, but are really interesting and lovely people. Maybe the hippies had it right and we have got it all wrong. People here really know how to listen and egos don’t seem to rule.

Let’s get to the children. I think these must be some of the luckiest children in the world, they are so loved and well cared for. They are divided into 3 groups, babies and young ones, older girls and older boys. These last 2 groups are the ones with Rashmi in Delhi for a treat. The younger ones are then split up into groups of about 3 or 4 and all have a “Mummy” whom they call Mummy and they all sleep together in one room and some in one bed. Little Sita, the tiny new baby, sleeps with Swapna and is nearly always in her or somebody elses arms. Mine too!

Having a Guru, Babaji, has helped with funds here at the Ashram as people come to visit when he is here, from all over the world and a lot of money comes from the American connection. So you can put your money away for this one guys, some things here are basic, but they need no more.

Let me tell you about my days so far, this may all change when school goes back though. A bell goes at 6a.m. when chai is served from the kitchen - haven’t made that yet. I get up at about 7 and take my bucket to collect some hot water and it is bucket shower time. No problem there as I am used to that in Bali. There is a shower but it is cold and I rather like the big slosh of jug water anyway. At 8 the bell is rung again for breakfast and I take my metal Tali dish, cup and spoon and proceed down to the kitchen. There we all (children and adults) sit cross legged (I kneel) on long strips of hessian and get served our food from large metal dishes pushed along the floor. All veg of course but really good and more than anyone could possibly eat. Very little talking is encouraged so that the children show respect and eat, but invariably there is chatter, particularly from the adults!

When finished we take out tali dishes, scrape whatever is left into a bucket for the dogs or the cows and wash our plates at a long communal trough. I love this bit, crazy huh? Then I come back to my room and decide what to do. Today I am writing this, but yesterday I played with the children, helped put shoes on the little one and then we played games and had a picnic under a big tree. Last night I sat with the children for a while and watched a Hindi movie with subtitles and had a few cuddles. They call me Didi or Beverley Didi. Didi is a respectful term for older sister. Because they have their own cows, we all get beautiful fresh milk and curd (yogurt) and at night a glass of hot fresh milk to take to bed, it is delicious.

This morning I mentioned to Swapna that I must get some more Salwar Kamis to wear and she suggested that I look in a huge metal trunk where volunteers leave there unwanted items. I had a look and it was like a treasure trove (all smelling of soap!) but unfortunately most were too big!

You would all know that the weather in Darjeeling bothered me enormously, well here it is perfect. A bit hot in the afternoons, but we all usually have a rest then, but most of the time is perfect. A bit chilly in the morning and it cools down wonderfully at night. I haven’t needed the fan and even put a soft pashmina over the bed to sleep.

Yesterday Jana (a Canadian visitor) decided to wash the 5 puppies with a solution for mange and flees and naturally I offered to help. We both got soaked, but had great fun doing it. Two more washes needed then they should feel a lot better. I miss my pets so this is good for me.

The Ganga (Ganges) is only a 15 minute walk away through country lanes and as you walk locals all say Namaste and smile. I almost made it there yesterday but my tummy started to yearn for the squat loo, so I had to turn back!

As I hope you can tell, I am loving it here. I am free to do as little or as much as I like with wonderfully kind non judgemental people. I think I may be turning into an aging hippy myself - I am almost without makeup!!!! I said - almost.

One day we took all the children into Haridwar on the Ashram school bus and they each had a little money to spend. It’s a once a year treat and they had a ball.

Now you have all been so good after reading all this text, the next few blogs will be all pictures, enjoy.



Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



5th April 2009

Ganga
And there was me thinking all these years that Ganga was something else!!!!!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb