constructing


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Dehradun
November 12th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There's alot of building that is going on around us right now, probably around 5 or 6 buildings in various stages of construction (including our building). So today at lunch I figured that you should have the opportunity to see Koenig's Dehradun location. There is actually 3 floors plus a basement where the lunch room and gym is located. It's kinda nice. There's plenty of room in the labs as well. You can go up to the 2nd floor (well they probably would prefer that you didn't go up there since it's unfinished) and on a clear day you can get some nice shots of the mountains. But the clouds role in pretty early now, so hopefully I will be lucky and get a nice picture of the mountains before it's time to go. It should be possible since I have a little over 3 weeks here. Yes, I am feeling just a bit hopeful but don't get use to it. 😜

At the front of the building you will find some grass and plants, which is very nice to see. I have missed seeing flowers, even grass for that matter. Someone at the school has even started a small vegetable garden, and there are two or three little green tomatoes. It is kinda cute. You will usually see some of the students sitting out front chatting on their lunch break. The back yard area is unfinished but it would be a great place to have a volleyball court, or something along that line. HINT!

I have found that construction here is just as messy as back home. The one main difference is we work from the outside in. Here they take each floor and finish it before they move to the next floor. I'm not to sure why that happens, but I'm sure that they have their reasons for doing so. My favorite is the way that walls and stairs are temporarily secured. Three inch poles are used to do this, but honestly to me the poles look like sapling trees that aren't even straight. Hey what ever works, but I think that OSHA would have serious issues.

I'm not sure what else to say about the building here, they use a lot of brick, re-barb, plaster, and of course marble. Very little wood is used in construction, so as expected there's no wood framing. I haven't seen anyone wearing hard hats or boots.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Holding up the stairsHolding up the stairs
Holding up the stairs

Yes the stairs are being held up by poles....you won't catch me on it
KoenigKoenig
Koenig

Notice the first floor is completed
There are flowersThere are flowers
There are flowers

I will take pics of more :)
Coffee....yumCoffee....yum
Coffee....yum

did you have any doubts?


12th November 2008

From the pictures it almost looks like you are in a desert. But I guess they are not obsessed with grass like Americans are...
12th November 2008

Wow
Thanks for all the pictures! Your description of the poles holding up the stairs was not as dramatic as actually seeing them! I'm amazed they haven't fallen. Maybe the reason they finish one floor at a time is so they can move in quicker? Or so they can bring in the money to pay for the second floor? :) Have you asked anyone why yet?
13th November 2008

a desert...
That's why I feel like it was the whole bait and switch.
13th November 2008

your probably right, they might be paid by the floor, instead of the job. :D

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb