First Impressions


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Dehradun
November 10th 2008
Published: November 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have mixed feelings about Dehradun.

It's probably because I was expecting something completely different than what is the reality. I was expecting a quaint town surrounded by mountains and trees. It is far from quiet, especially where I am staying. Maybe that's so I won't want to return to New Delhi. LOL According to one of the students here this is a good place to study because there is nothing to do. I am hoping that he is just a homebody who hasn't been out much. We shall see.

The trip from Delhi began at 5:30 am at the train station, and was pretty uneventful. I actually slept or tried to sleep most of the way just to kill time. It's about 5 hours from Delhi to Dehradun via the express train. I was sitting in the middle seat and couldn't see much outside. Sorry you guys no pics of the countryside. Hopefully the return trip I will have more luck.

The school itself is actually located just outside of the town. It's pretty quiet here and there is alot of building since the surrounding area will become the area's IT park.

The place that I am staying is pretty nice. I have a window that actually looks out to the street and my room is much larger than my previous accommodations. It's good that my room is much larger since i have two roommates, roaches. I haven't named them yet but by the time I leave I'm sure they will have gone through several names. Raid anyone? Ok so I'm sure there were plenty of their cousins at the last place but they were kind enough to stay out of sight. 😊 The hotel is kind enough to supply us with 2 hours of free WIFI each day. If you want any more than that you get to pay for it. Hmmm....I think I'm going through withdrawal. Sorry guys no more phone calls til I get more minutes on my Sim card.

That will be my job today after class (1) get another Sim card, (2) find a fruit stand....and if I'm in the mood I will take more pictures. Honestly, I'm not in the mood for much of anything, but we won't go there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th November 2008

Smog Factor?
Is the new place a bit less smoggy? Can you at least see a mountain? Maybe you can visit these places: Robber's Cave Also known as Gachchu Pani,situated at a distance of eight km from the city center.Robber's cave is a beautiful picnic spot. On display here is one of nature's strange phenomena; a stream of water goes underground here and reappears a few metres away. The cave is surrounded by hills and is a beautiful getaway for those looking for peace and quiet of the hills. Sahastradhara Around 14 km from Dehradun is the cold Sulphur water spring called Sahastradhara. The spring is believed to have exceptional medicinal value and the dripping caves and a bath in the Baldi River near the spring are said to rejuvenate the body and soul. You can have a spa day! Happy thoughts! Jen
12th November 2008

Yes there is much less smog which is a welcome relief. Saturday we are planning a trek up to the mountain town of Mussoorie. It's supose to be a nice place to visit. We will see how it goes.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb