rain - bow


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Almora
April 9th 2009
Published: April 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Rain-bow

Delhi was a really fun place to be, to hang out for a few days. Mix with some people from there and such. Old delhi, wow what an experience. I got a good vibe from the city, which is good since I plan to live there, har har harrrrrrrr. Funny to imagine me, in a city that big and smelly. But you know, 6 hours on a train and I am in the Himalayas. So life can't be that bad can it.

After Delhi, we caught a night train to Haldwani (referred to in all them glorious tourist hand books as the 'gate way to the himalayas') fantastic. The night train was calm this time, not full of wacko families. It's crazy arrive into a town at 5 in the morning.....the day just beginning. And I have never been so bombarded with egar ricksaw drivers in all my trip! Sam and I took one step out of the station and they were like flies around shit. About 30 people around us all shouting rickshaw, taxi and some random place names we had never even heard of. I said to them all, chillll man, jeez!!!! But of course they don't chill. So we took 3 steps back and dashed back inside until we had a plan of action.
Our plan was to get some breakfast...and then set off to find the rainbow gathering Hmm,breakfast plan not working so well at 5 in the morning. This town had such a nice feel to it though. I love Indian mountain villages, so chilled, so cold, beautiful beautiful people. Some times the buildings remind me of the wild west ha ha. we caught a 3 hour bus to a little village called Kerna. Here we bought some blankets and jumped in a jeep to a smaller village on top of a hill. From there, we walked for hours...........got lost, walked back. And then set off and walked the real way. So tired, walking with backpacks and hardly any sleep. The nature is so amazing though, really lucky to be able to experience it. We finally got to the rainbow. So happy to arrive. So so tired. I some of my friends. Pete and Reza, had big hugs. Reza told us our other friends were camping on the hill. He took us there. One last tired haul up the hill. I saw my good friend Natty making her tent. Wow I was so excited to see her again. She ran up to Sam and I and we all hugged. Really great to be in a place with so many friends. Every day more and more people arriving. Sam and I were so so tired, but, we had to make camp. We are camped on a hill which is nice, coz down in the valley its cold. Its nice coz its next to the river and kitchen and communal circle. But its freeezing man. But being on the hill means, we had to flatten out some place to sleep. Dig dig dig,bash bash bash. Tent up..........eat.........sleep.
next day, we walk for hours, all the way to Kerna without a jeep. What a beautiful walk. We drank tea with an old Indian man.........with the most beautiful wife hahaha. All 3 of us were like wow...........
and she made good tea. Hes a lucky guy. He shook a lemon tree and gave us fresh lemons and walked the rest of the way into the village with us. Good guy.
I saw a wood pecker!! first time i ever seen one!
Sam and I put on another games work shop. It was great, lots of laughing and fun.
I'm making new friends and its pretty chill. But i do have some beef with the rainbow gathering, but i guess this don't matter. Just have to concentrate on the good stuff. And there is plenty. Drinking fresh fresh river water, empowered by nature, surrounded by fantastic musicians, heating up hot water and taking a shower, making tea and sharing it with your friends, big cuddle puddlessssssssssssss everyone just mashed together in a big tent hugging.
So much love between us. But then why can my head not be at rest?
I think I figured out, this kind of traveling, is ok but its not sustainable. It's to fast, i need to be able to cook for myself! I need to be able to eat more organic food. I need to know where things are coming from. It's not good, this consumer life. Always guest house, always restaurants. In India, I buy things all the time........with a base one doesn't need to do it. It's just not fitting in with my ethics.
I am vegan, most of you know this........and I love being vegan it means so much to my mentality. But at the rainbow, I am not vegan really.......because how can I call myself vegan when all the food i eat arrives on a donkey! Poor fucking donkey. I get sad so sad when i think about it. I was sat by the river and the 3 slave donkeys were next to me, tied tight to a tree, i looked in their eyes and I felt so bad.
But how can one live pure? Where do my clothes come from? where do my drinks come from, my food............? So maybe i think, ok, if i start traveling a few months at each place, i can get a base and be more in charge of the stuff I am getting and star to live a bit more ethically. Because this, this is not good for my peace of mind. I try to chill, but I can't, it really bothers me.

My tent!!!!!!!!!! water proof, always! Not last night. The skies opened up and it pissed rain, it rain and rain and rain. I awake in the middle of the night in a puddle so wet. And Sam, farting away, gassing me out. Not a good night. And my shoe!! it was out side in the rain!! Gosh, so now my right food is extremely cold. I got out of bed and made porridge and complained a little haha. I thought ok, if i sleep tonight all my stuff will be wet and I will be a fucking cold as I was last night. So I set off walking with my sleeping bag. I went on the 2 hour walk, the 30 minute jeep ride, the 1 and a half hour bus ride and came to this town called Almora. So here I am, in civilization. Its ok...........Internets a bit energy sucking innit.........and well.......can't really be bothered. haha.
I need a shower, i still feel cold to the bone, looking forward to warming up!! Washing the camping dirt off me mmmmmmmmmmm.

I'm bored of writing now
loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee yourrrrrrr friend kayos

Advertisement



28th April 2009

pics please
Just read all your comments a kay and it makes for enoyable and enlightening reading. Must feel good to experience so many new things in such a short period of time. Take care of yourselves miss loads and love you both xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb