Delhi Whelly


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
March 27th 2009
Published: March 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post



Sam and I caught a never ending train to Delhi......nah, it wasn't never ending really, as I am sure you know. But it did take a long time, over 30 hours. Two nights 'sleeping' on the train. At least that's what we would of liked to have done, if we weren't stuck in a carrage with a load of raving nut balls. Who didn't really care about the existence of any one else hahaha. If they wanted to wake you up or tell you to move so they could lay down, or turn the light on and of consistently threw the night, or do any other freaky things, they would do it.
We finally found refugee in a carriage a coupla of blocks down, with some peaceful folk, who didn't mind sharing space, food and conversation.
But, it wasn't so bad really, I'm just a complainer haha, the time went pretty fast. At sunset I sat by the open door, watching the Indiana land scapes roll on by. The sun was amazing. I hope the capture the image in my head forever. I would try to describe it, would the words would fail me and the sun terribly so I won't bother. But My mouth was hung open wide gorping. And the beauty of the sun made everything else we pasted by more golden and scenic.

Hmmm, what have I been up to since the last blog entry. My mother came to visit, so we hung around with her mostly. We picked her up in Chennai, then went to Kodai Kanal, then to Auroville, where we stayed in a little hut on near the beach. Mother got attacked by blood sucking bed bugs. The huts belonged to a very smiley man (who I think was high, always chewing this red stuff i forget the name of) he was nice. Babus bed bugs. I dreamed of cutting my hair off.....so I did. We went to visit Sadhana forest, it was great to see my friends again and their big smiling faces. It made me realise how much I like all these random folk I meet on the way. Especially when you share something together, such as Sadhana, a big social circle and work life.
After this, we went to mamallapuram.........pretty cool place, loads of proper old caves and carvings. Quite amazing! We had some skanky tour guide telling us about some of it, but I didn't understand what he was babbling on about so half of the time I didn't listen. I liked mamallapuram though, even though it was tourist heaven, it was a nice 2 day break. We stayed in a typical hostel sort of place, paying the typical amount of money. Pretty cheap. But the same hostel had bigger budget rooms available. And to go along with this, it had a swimming pool! So nice. So ok, we were right next to the sea and the sea had some biggy one waves (really big fuck off waves that Sam and some other friends like to shout, BIGGY ONE WAVE......dunno why, bar fordi) but still, it was so nice to swim around, floating, screaming under water and seeing if Sam understood what I was trying to say. Playing in life jackets, rolly pollies. I just like pools. But its also a strange thing huh. I mean here I am swimming in a big hmm bowl of water........just playing around and some other people have to walk miles and miles just to get water to drink and live off. It doesn't seem right.
Anyway anyway. We dropped mother ship off at the airport on.....the 24th and she went back to western land......must be a strange feeling to be some where as intense as India for 11 days then bam back in to 'normality'
Sam and I jumped on the train, two days later got to where we are now.
Which is, at our first ever Indian couch surf! So i dunno if you guys know what couch surfing is, but I will explain anyways, because its better to have knowledge than not.
Its a web site, for people who want to share their homes with travelers. So for example, one would make a profile about themselves and the space/time they have to offer etc then people who want to visit that city can find people who they think they would get along with and message them. In Copenhagen Sam and I had a lot of people staying with us. Its a good way to travel and get to meet different people, other than just travelers. In India, it can get tiresome, always meeting the traveler type people. I am aware we also probably fall into this category, but on a whole I think I would rather meet some more Indians, since I am in India and all....
Where was I, I babble to much and lose the track. Who needs a track anyways.
So yeah its nice here. To be in a home after 3 months. To have a hot shower for the first time in ages. To sit and waste time on the Internet, to watch a film, to lay on the couch, to sleep in a bed that doesn't fuck my back or have bed bugs.
I like it, but the pleasures don't out way the urge to keep on the road and head to the mountains. We leave tomorrow or the day after, into the wilderness.....hahah or something like this.

I like this city though. Today Sam and I set off with a destination in mind. We wanted to go watch this documentary on Tibet, as there is an event going on, 50 years in exile. But we never made it, instead we just took random left and rights down streets and back Allies. It was great fun, this city has a really nice vibe and it seems cleaner than the other cities Ive been to. It has lots of beautiful trees sticking out from the brick work of houses or pavements. We stumbled into this maze of shops........all selling the same thing. Jeans! I've never seen so many jeans in my life, I was so confused, why, why do they all sell jeans? Is this the only place in Delhi to purchase your trendy jeans? It was weird man. Sam said, well practically the whole male population of a country is wearing jeans, they gotta buy them somewhere. I laughed at this coz its so true, all these males are wearing jeans.......sometimes i worry about the fashion of Indians though, mustache and flares..............pwoah.
I got really tired of being stared at though. Some days I am just so tired, I wanna walk down a street and no one stare at me, no one stop their conversations to point, or grabbing their friends to come look. It wares down. Most days I don't mind so much, but today, it pissed me off. Some peoples looks are so dirty, I don't understand how they think its ok to look at people that way. But, that's the way it is I guess.
Sam and I had an idea to make a t-shirt saying 'did you realise you are staring'
ha ha
hmmmmm so soon we head to the mountains to go to a rainbow gathering and meet up with a lot of friends. Looking forward to seeing them. No sure if I will like the rainbow gathering, but I am keeping an open mind. And if its boring, then I can just go for a treck in the Himalayas hahahwoooohoo. Man it looks so beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i still get little twangs of home sickness. But its nice to have it for the first time in my life. Even though I don't know where home is, I know there is a rough area where i wanna go back to, eventually.

well its late
so cya later !!xxxxxxxx
ps if you want a post card, give me your address hahaha xxxxxxxx

Advertisement



30th March 2009

Jeans
Babes, I am so happy for you girls!!! I SO wish I was there with you! About the jeans, have you seen that in Indian cities most stuff are sold in different areas, like, there might be one street or block selling only onions, the next only matrasses, the next dead sheep, the next one only jeans, and so on. It´s different from here where you have a bunch of shops all selling different things in the same area. Indian people I asked said they prefered it like it is in India cause it makes it easier to compare prices and haggle.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb