Freedom


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Almora
September 18th 2007
Published: September 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Jammu StationJammu StationJammu Station

3 hours of this chaos, in humid hot weather, with 2 backpacks to take care of.
Finally, I am a free woman again :-) It feels wonderful to be able to go to places on my own again, decide when and what to eat, and take a rikshaw by myself.

The ride from Srinagar to Jammu took about 8 hours, the distance was only 290km! And going down those hills (compare it to the roads in Italy or South France) is quite something here. The drivers don't stay in their lane, not even just before or in the middle of "blind" curves. Instead, they horn to warn the drivers on the other side.. It's best not to look at what's ahead too much. Just enjoy the view and not think about how dangerous the ride is. But I made it, alive and kicking :-)

Once in Jammu, I got to the train station... an overcrowded microwave oven. Had to wait there for over 3 hours. No other www(esterner)'s around, so I got many people staring at me. Going to the toilet becomes a challenge with 2 backpacks. It would be difficult even in 'developed' countries, but knowing that just about anything is extremely dirty here, it's not like you'll be inclined to put your backpack on the floor in the toilet.

Anyhow, I had a ticket in AC3 class (AC=airconditioned), which was ok, but I wanted to upgrade to AC2 and fortunately (at the time anyway), there was a free bed in AC2, so I could go there without extra charge. The difference between AC3 and AC2 is not soo big: only the matress is a little thicker and you get a curtain. I had the top bed, just above the bed of the train conductor. I slept with my backpack by my feet, which decreased my leg space, but rather that, than worrying all night over whether my stuff would be safe or not. I actually did get a few hours of good sleep. This morning, I woke up realising I have slept with my face just under the airco. I don't imagine the filters of these airco's ever get cleaned or renewed. Having astma, this is not especially good for me. I was coughing and my chest hurt. I was afraid I would get sick, but I don't have any cough or pain anymore now, so I guess I'll be fine.

At around 8AM, the train arrived in Haridwar, so I am out of the "danger zone". I considered it would be a waste of time to hang around in Haridwar and/or Rishikesh for 2 days, as there is another place I need to visit before my friend Gaelle arrives in Delhi on the 27th. I feel I am putting less pressure on myself if I go straight there first. I can always go to Rishikesh and Haridwar later, those are very common tourist places. So I took a public bus to Haldwani, another 7 hours drive (no airco), for only 140 INR.

This is my last blog entry for at least a week, as there is no internet where I am going. Now it's time for a shower (after 2 days in microwave conditions), some food, and SLEEP!



Advertisement



18th September 2007

Ironie
Hey Sabrina! Hoe ironisch om je blog met FREEDOM net binnen te krijgen. Op janssen krijgen we net te horen dat er bijne 700 banen geschrapt gaan worden! Je hebt de tijd van je leven, geniet, geniet, geniet!!!! Dikke kus, Anneke
18th September 2007

Great-things
Hooi Sabrina, Leuk te horen dat het goed met je gaat ginder. Wat nog extra is, zijn de leuke foto's die we ondertussen al hebben zien passeren. Zo kunnen we nog extra mee-genieten van jou avonturen. Stel het wel ginder en zoals je al zei, leg jezelf niet teveel druk op en geniet ervan. Groet, Werner (van op St-Anneke ;-) )

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.2022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb