Sorry for the delay


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh
March 13th 2005
Published: March 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I am so sorry we have not updated this earlier. Especially when i told EVERYONE we would. We just have not had any time. Today is the first day we have had just hanging out and not doing anything. Meredith will be going shopping this afternoon with my Aunt, and that is about it. First, Meredith has been keeping a very detailed journal on her cmuter. I think she update every free minute she gets. This will come in handy when get back, we will just cut and paste and you can get a detailed account from her. So here is what has happened so far:

We reached safe and sound on the 3rd. We got out of the airport within an hour and were greeted by 2 of my uncles. While waiting for the cr at the curb Meredith kept swatting skeetrs. She quickly reminded me we have to make sure we take our Malaria meds every morning when we wake up. To which my uncle quicky replied

You mean IF you wake up.

HAHAHA

The first part of our trip consisted of meeting family, mixed with a couple of interviews Meredith had to do for some stories. We stayed with my family in Dehli and my Dads whole side of the family came to a party we had in Dehli. We figured this was much easier than going to each and every persons house to meet them. Driving in Dehli is insane! It takes forever to get ANYWHERE with all the traffic. We also met an Indian Airlines pilot Meredith needed to interview. I realized that with enough money anyone can live like you do in the US. We then left Dehli for Karnal (where my Mom is from) and met with my Moms side of the family. I have not been here for 10 years, so it was eciting seeing everyone grown up.

We stayed in Karnal 1 day and then took a 3 day tour of tracing my Dads roots. We went to the village that my Grandfather grew up in (and eventualy left for the city). Then we met the oldest living person in our family, my Dads aunt. We dont know her exact age, but Dad is sure she is over 90. Amazing considering the life span here and especially in a rural village. We then met some more of my Dads distant family, saw the house he grew up in, and then made our way back to Dehli.

We are currently on the second part of our trip, seeing old Indian artifacts. We went to the Taj Mahal a couple of days ago, and then the temples in Khajuraho yesterday. After all the running around we need a break! Today will be a good transition into the last part our trip, relaxing. We will return to Dehli tomorrow and then we will be off to Banglore for a couple of days and the beaches of Goa for a few days. I willl updae again when I have a chance.

This was the play-by-play of our trip, I will have ask Mer to log on and update her experiences. Also, I realze this summary may be a little lame, but if I dont write a major summary of what we have done so far, I would be here all day typing, sorry.

-Sarat

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb