the dogs of varanasi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
April 16th 2006
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Did I also mention to my list of animals goats, ducks, squirrels and rats? when i mention these animals I don't mean to day I just saw one or two I mean to say that these different species represent whole social subgroups like the sadhus, buddhists or shop keepers etc. i used to like all the animals here at varinasi but as each day passes I hear more stories of their anti-social habits and it's not just shitting in the street I'm talking about. Lara got charged by a bull the other night The monkeys as you know are outrageous theives and cause street riots just for fun and a rat made a lunge for my toe as I was climbing some steps today. the dogs hang out in street gangs and telepathically decide on who to terrorise with lots of barking and general menacing, another aussie girl Alex got bitten by a mad dog and had to do a tedious course of rabies shots. though aside form this i still kinda like the streetscape to be filled with all these crazy anti social critters and telling monkeys off has become one of my favourite pass times. i really let them have it and I'm sure they probaby think I'm as crazy as I think them!

My teacher happily says i'll be an expert in another 10 years as i'm so smart and am such a good student. These time spans don't seem to really phase indians. you tell anyone that you are learning any of their classical instruments and they will smile happily and say how great you will be in 10 years time without one trace of cynicism...... i got a set of tabla drums today....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb