India , Varanasi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
January 6th 2009
Published: January 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Varanasi yesterday after dark , so I found a hotel room and crashed ,

But I did get up real early this morning and went for a walk along the ghats , Varanasi is considered a very holy city , and the ghats are basically steps that lead down to the river Ganges , but there are many different type's of ghats , some are primarily used for bathing others for clothes washing ,

but many hold particular religious or spiritual significance , thus some ghats people will simply go to and get a little of the holy water on themselves , the most unique ghats to me though are the ones where even early this morning I saw families with the dead body of there deceased relative , preparing to burn the body and have the ashes cast into the Ganges .

Sadly the Ganges is extremely polluted along the ghats of Varanasi , so no bathing in it for me , just a few pics and a stroll past .

I took a lot of photo's today , and the day is feeling long , so I may not caption many of the photo's , I am sure any one that reads this , should be able to determine which ghats people are washing , doing Laundry , etc , at .

I will also throw in some photo's of the city streets directly surrounding the river Ganges , in all of there crowded glory .

I have yet to see a city in India that was not all most suffocatingly crowded , but I am getting more used to it . takes a little time , or at least it has for me .


Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

hearth for burning bodies , at a ghat along the Gangeshearth for burning bodies , at a ghat along the Ganges
hearth for burning bodies , at a ghat along the Ganges

It was a brisk morning by Varanasi standards , so these dogs were sleeping on the stone hearth that had been warmed the night before , by the Pyre of a cremation .
hearth for burning bodies , at a ghat along the Gangeshearth for burning bodies , at a ghat along the Ganges
hearth for burning bodies , at a ghat along the Ganges

It was a brisk morning by Varanasi standards , so these dogs were sleeping on the stone hearth that had been warmed the night before , by the Pyre of a cremation .


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb