No place else quite like it


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
March 31st 2008
Published: April 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Best way to travelBest way to travelBest way to travel

In the heat and traffic of Varanassi.
the reason for the visit here is to see the Ghats. I don't think that there is anything else quite like it anywhere! All the activities taking place before dawn on and in the same river.

I wasn't able to take photos of it all, and I didn't want to, as it all felt very intrusive . From the river we saw a deceased lady already wrappped in white cloth being tied to a boat for her burial in the Ganges. Apparently as she was a Seikh she couldn't be cremated.
Along the edges of the river people bathe, wash their clothes and clean their teeth. All in the same water. Truly unbelievable, especially as 2 sewage plants empty into it.

Although we felt intrusive, we were not seen that way as the locals carried on as usual, asking us for tips and trying to make sales to us. All very surreal as funerals were taking place.



Phase 1 complete- RELIGIOUS and REGAL RELICS. My attempt at culture!

I mentioned that I had travelled 4000Km by road, I have now added 1500 by rail, and by this time tmorrow about 5000 by air, all within India. I am definitely ready for Phase 2 which is RECLINE. RELAX AND RAYS.
I may not be as frequent with updates for a while!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Time 4 a gossipTime 4 a gossip
Time 4 a gossip

it's the same the World over?
CarnivalCarnival
Carnival

Just along the river was a carnival atmosphere- weird
Another sunriseAnother sunrise
Another sunrise

I'd been up hours


5th April 2008

Philli the traveller
All that travelling, you must be in need of a rest now. Kerala looks lovely I've been reading up about it, in fact I might join you! Don't worry only joking. Lots of love Mum xx
8th April 2008

Hullo Philli Babes Looks like you are having a great experience so envious of the Taj, it looks fantastic. Keep us posted of your exotic travels. Murfs x
11th June 2008

wonderfull photos
hi! Phil.. Dear you have captured a beautifull photograph of the sunrise...I always want to visit Varanasi. I have heared a lot about the sunrise. Is it really good..?? Where else did you visit.. Did you see the Taz? I am very lethargic when it comes to travelling... Regards Chandra
13th June 2008

weell worth the visit
Varanassi was unbelivable. You have to get a photo of the sunrise if you're up at that time! India was amazing but back to reality now. Thanks for the comment. It's nice to know people are still looking.

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb