The indianest India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
November 30th 1999
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

That's it, no one can say I haven't been to "real" India yet. Varanasi is Indian essence. Oh, I almost forgot - I'm back in India.

It was quite strange to suddenly find myself in the States. At first I had quite a culture shock (I walked around supermarkets staring at everything in awe), but in some sense I found out it's less different than I thought (for instance this guy that sat next to me in a cafe asked me who my favorite guru is). I mainly walked around there and observed whatever happened around me, kind of like I do here. It seems that when you travel like that you find funny and strange and special things practically anywhere, even suburbia. And it turns out you can even find good old Indian logic right there in America! For instance, I went to check in for my flight back and I was afraid I might miss it because of the long line. I asked the woman in the counter to help me and she told me to wait in line, that it was my own fault and that one must check in two hours before an international flight (in my case this meant at 4:30 am). She didn't seem to think this was in any sort of conflict with the fact that the checkin counters only opened at 5:15... And then, when I was in Delhi, I saw a kid on the street washing a thali plate with soap! (those of you who have been to India will understand how rare this is...). So after all it seems it's also a little bit same-same, not just different.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb