cows and medicine men


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Varanasi
January 4th 2007
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We're both suffering from uncontrollable (almost) diarhea, and it's getting beyond a joke! I wont go into details but suffice to say I've had enough of it, and what's worse is that I know what we're going through right now isnt really anything compared to what I've been through before or what will inevitably lay ahead! arrrrgggghhhhh!
We were too ill last night to go out on the boat, but at around midnight, we got talking to a los Angeles man who seemed about mid 30s until we got closer, and I think he was actually in his 50s. Anyway, he has been converted by yoga, so we were quizzing him about everything, and he gave us loads of names of people to go speak to, yogis and sadhus etc. He used to be a photographer so bob thinks it's fate we were talking to him!
ANyway, he was going for a walk to the burning ghats so we went too - this is where they burn bodies, only a few hours after the person has died. The eldest son has to shave his head and then when the body has half burned, he has to take a stick and bash the skull in to make sure that the spirit is released. Then he must say goodbye and not turn around otherwise they'll be leftin limbo! yikes.
I didnt particularly like being there. The smell is quite overpowering despite the sandalwood that is also burned, but the thing I found unbearable was that I was the only woman and it was really late night - Women arent allowed there because they'll cry ! but I felt really uncomfortable, it seemed so intrusive, and sad, and wrong for me to be there.
Anyway, I have been given some strange white stone to take for my diarhoea with some water by a local medicine man who we found in a tiny underground shop. Bob thinks "im crazy but I was drawn into it so I'm going to give it a go, I'll report when I'm better!

Advertisement



4th January 2007

Well wishing
O Kate, it's sounds rotten. Get well soon, eh. x
4th January 2007

Fuc* the water
Fuc* the "magic" water, coke is the real thing when experiencing Delhi Belly. Sorted my amoebic dysentry out a treat. You poor things, I totaly know what you are going through. Hope it improves soon and that you don't lose too many pairs of tighty whities to the illness (if you catch my drift). Oh, top tip for Varanassi. Watch out for the floating dead bodies when you are on the river (they don't cremate lepers of kids), we saw something white in the water, went over to get a closer look, realised it was a dead body, and later I bashed one with the oar! Nice. Anyway, get well soon and enjoy!
5th January 2007

goodness, eating stones and burning feet!! How big are the stones? It'll be like having a baby when they come out the other end! Sounds fab anyway (apart from the bad bums). I'm in the process of getting internet access from the house, so I'll let you know when I have an email address. Love you x x x
5th January 2007

Spelling lesson
The correct spelling of diarhea is diarrhoea.
7th January 2007

hmph!
yes yes yes I know ! bloomin dodgy keyboards!
7th January 2007

silly stones
thankfully they were crumbly stones so not too bad - bob looked at them with all their jaggedness and thought I was a nutter! Cant wait till you get internet - superdooper, what a trooper - that is so true, thanks for everything! love you xxx

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb