Mutiny on the Gomti


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Lucknow
January 1st 2006
Published: January 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Gomti RiverThe Gomti RiverThe Gomti River

Featuring what I originally thought was the Residency, but turned out to be some drug research facility
Despite ye olde bowels still being far from healthy, I managed to down some bananas this morning, which will supposedly assist my recovery. I was also lucky that the hotel (for Rs 100 commission) purchased my onward train ticket for me, which saved me the rickshaw trips to/from the station, plus no doubt a ton of waiting time at Lucknow's notoriously busy reservations counter. With that potential headache resolved, I decided to head out for a spot of sight-seeing.

If Westerners know anything about Lucknow, it's that it was the site of a mutiny in 1857, in which 3,000 British and British-sympathisers were put under siege in the Residency building by Indian soldiers - when they were finally relieved, only about 1,000 were still alive. Of course, the other view of this version of events is that it was a battle for independence that was suppressed by the British invaders. Whichever opinion you may subscribe to, the Residency has been left in the condition it was in when the siege was raised. Sitting close to the banks of the Gomti River, it consists of a number of buildings in various states of destruction, with large tracts of lawn between them, and shade provided by numerous trees.

It was clearly a popular place to spend New Year's Day, as there were umpteen families sitting picnicing on the grass. I was even able to bask on a bench in the sun without anyone approaching me.

The afternoon and evening were spent back in bed watching TV, as I was still lacking in energy. I hope the year doesn't continue as it has started ...


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



10th January 2006

The Squits
Stay strong John. Had a curry myself two nights ago and must have had sympathetic squits. I feel your pain (and discomfort) and know that it must be double in the land of limited toilet roll and bone shaking transport. Take care, Tom
8th May 2007

la martiniere college
why had'nt u added the images of la martiniere college,imambaras,and various other historical monuments ,the gllary totally seems to be incomplete & hollow wthout them.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb