Taj Tales


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
October 7th 2006
Published: October 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Agra 1Agra 1Agra 1

The Tourist's Rest House in Agra....not bad at all
Thanks for all of your sympathetic responses to my plight in Delhi. The sarcasm and abuse was on roughly the level I expected!

Anyway, my 6.15 a.m. train to Agra went surprisingly smoothly (even though I had about four hours sleep) and my train station pick up actually happened! I was shocked to see a sign with my name on it at Agra Cantt station and the accomodation is first class too at the Tourist Rest House...the tv even works!

I've been taxi'd around Agra and it's surrounds by the guys from the Tourist Rest House (money hasn't been mentioned yet and am expecting to be saddled with a large bill before I leave...more on that another time if I'm still able to type) and have seen most of the sights in the stifling 40 degree heat. I only meant to stay in Agra for a couple of days, but the train situation means I'm here until first thing Monday.

You'll all be glad to hear that things improved in Delhi on days two and three and I met a fellow solo traveller - a young Dutch lady, with whom I spent the remaining time in Delhi with,
Agra 2Agra 2Agra 2

The ghost town of Fhatephur Sikri, just outside Agra
seeing the sights/getting shouted at by rickshaw drivers/falling down holes in the road etc. She's arriving in Agra in the morning and we're then travelling on to Jaipur on Monday.

Went to Fathepur Sikri yesterday, which is a Mughal ghost town from the 16th century. I spent a couple of hours avoiding the gardener, who upon realising I was from England, kept trying to give me 35 English pence in exhange for some rupees. Of course I was having none of that...his exchange rate was a little out! He followed me around for a long while before I told him to sling his hook!

Have been suffering from a touch of Delhi Belly this afternoon. I think it may have been the three curries I devoured yesterday! Don't think the waiter's much of a fan of Mark Radcliffe, as my request for half rice/half chips was greeted with a raised eyebrow. He should be thankful I didn't ask for half mild/half nan into the bargain.

Popped over to the Taj Mahal earlier for a gaze at the rear of the structure from the Moon Gardens behind. Will have a proper look tomorrow after some plain, unspiced food
Agra 3Agra 3Agra 3

The start of the decline my health...a roadside restaurant in Fhatephur Sikri
has been eaten.

The lights have just gone out again in this internet place, so could be a good time to exit...





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Agra 4Agra 4
Agra 4

Akhbar's mausoleum in Agra
Agra 5Agra 5
Agra 5

Still at Akhbar's tomb and this photo almost cost me 10 rupees. The bloke whose hand is in the shot kept shouting "I am monkey man" over and over. I think Ian Brown would have something to say about that and needless to say, he didn't get his 10 rupees.
Agra 6Agra 6
Agra 6

The Baby Taj...and some Japanese tourists


7th October 2006

taj tit
well ive applied the paint........just watching it dry. Nice story.......we all know your camped out in some bed and breakfast on the west coast of England somewhere.....trying to avoid the Debt collectors. Pay your debts like all us other folk........bloody Tax dodger.

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb