"Tear Drop on the Cheek of Eternity"


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttar Pradesh » Agra
March 19th 2011
Published: March 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I could not be more excited about my visit to Agra. Could it actually be as startling as everybody says? On the way, I stopped off at abandoned city of Fatehpur Sikri. My Lonely Planet suggested it was a top 18 thing to go a see/do in India. Navigating my way through the dodgy dealers was the first task. Every couple of steps I was stopped by someone trying to sell me guided tours, postcards, Taj Mahal tickets and more. New tactic: iPod headphones on! It worked, although I did get some disgruntled looks on my way. As it was free, I entered the Fatehpur Sikri version of the Jama Masjid (if you've been concentrating, the other one is in Delhi). This one was far more impressive, even though it was apparently smaller. The mosque was a hive of activity from men selling stuff, tourists, Islamic teachers, men praying or just people using it as a meeting place. I had arranged a pre-arranged pick-up and ran out of time, so I was unable to visit the Palaces and Pavillions. It didn't really bother me because, as I have already mentioned, I am getting a little tired of them.

The evening was spent chilling in the hotel. I wanted to save the Taj Mahal for the next couple of days. Before I put my head down, I was recommended to stay indoors during the festivities of the following day, Holi, unless I wanted to be smothered in various colours of paint. The next day I braved it in mid-afternoon. I thought the festivities may have died down, due to the heat. I was almost correct. A few rowdy teenagers threatened me with yellow paint over my head and in response I waved my fore-finger like an on-edge foreigner who could lose his rag at any moment. Thankfully they backed down, especially because I had not bought any clothes in preparation of a paint drenching. I arrived in an area just outside the Taj Mahal entrance, called Taj Ganj. I heard some loud drums and I followed the sound. What I found was a group of local lads chucking paint everywhere, in a tight bazaar, while dancing Bhangra style. Anyone who was near got splashed by purple and blue paint, including onlookers from hotel balconies. It's fair to say I kept my distance and used the zoom, on my camera, to its full capability.

Later in the day I grabbed a "safe" meal. This was McDonald's Maharaja Burger Meal. The place was full of people in their Holi paint covered clothes, even the workers in their uniforms. The hands, of the man making my burger, were magenta in colour. If it wasn't for me being as ravounous as a lion, who hasn't eaten in weeks, I wouldn't have eaten my bright pink stained covered burger bun. You could say it was a Holi Burger Meal

I didn't want to go inside the grounds until the next day due to the expense (by far the most expensive attarction in India). I found a small area on the South Bank of the Yamuna River where almost nobody was. This was a great view of the Taj and it was completely free of charge and hassle. Watching the Taj and river surrender to shadow was a truly spiritual experience. Such a famous monument and sharing with 20 people, at most, was very special. I loved every second.

Within the grounds the next day was amazing, the next day. The striking white marble, against a blue sky, with thousands of locals and tourists dressed in a variety of colours was a sight to behold. The gardens in front of the Taj Mahal completed the picture I was so used to in books and television. Inside the Taj Mahal is a tomb. In my eyes, this is not particularly great to look at but what it represented is important: a man built the Taj Mahal as a monument to his late wife. Out of respect, no photographs are allowed to be taken inside the tomb. Many people did not seem to care for this at all. To add insult, flash bulbs were constantly firing in a scrum for the best position. Purely selfish people. This was a situation that i was not going to allow taint the day. The Taj Mahal is far too special.

Due to the heat I left the grounds to grab a bite. The first restaurant I arrived in, the boy/waiter spilled his guts everywhere as I was about to order. Without hesitation I left to find another place to eat where the person who was serving me didn't look like he needed to go to hospital. After a late lunch, I went to my favourite spot beside the river to watch the Sunset again. This sunset was totally different from the evening before, but still very beautiful. The clouds at first dimming the sun and then, when finally below the horizon lit the clouds a peachy-pink tint.

I really didn't see much of Agra apart from the Taj Mahal. I do not regret this at all because I do not wonder one bit why the is a "Wonder of the World". Awe inspiring from every angle, any time of day and any situation. I definitely could have stayed for a couple more days just looking at this monument of love but since India is so full of culture and experiences, I had to move on.






Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Boat TripBoat Trip
Boat Trip

These guys had a boat trip up the Yamuna river to get an unforgettable view
Jama Masjid EntranceJama Masjid Entrance
Jama Masjid Entrance

The black areas in the archways are beehives


26th March 2011

The teardrop explodes
Sort ur fone. Attila assumes worst without one/day contact-and if its not my fault, it doesn't feel like it. Photos outshine prose by a mahal but still looking for a proper prune.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb