Knights in Shining Armour!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu
August 4th 2008
Published: August 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wowser that was a bus journey and a half! Didn't quite make it to Periyar as it was getting dark, I was knackered and had been on buses for about 12 hours so decided to stay the night in Theni rarher than turn up late at night totally exhausted! First thing this morning I had to get a bus from Ooty to Coimbatore (about 5hours) and then from there take another couple of buses onwards. Coimbatore is this crazy, crazy big industrial town, with at least 3 different bus stops in different parts of the town and I had no idea which one to get the next bus from! Luckily for me I asked a guy on the bus for help and him and his friend turned out to be my Knights in shining armour!

Vishnak and his friend helped me with my bags, found out which was the bus station I needed to be at, took me there on the local bus, and then found the bus. Unfortunately the next bus was almost full with only the front passenger seat left. "I'm not sure how good this driver is, I think you'd better wait till the next bus" said Vishnak. I couldn't help but agree. I was thinking just the other day that the front passenger seat on a local bus here is like the death seat.
The next bus wasn't for another hour and a half and Vishnak and his friend were so lovely they stayed to keep me company and made sure I was on the next bus in a good seat supplied with biscuits and water. A big thankyou to my Knights in Shining Armour! This is another fine example of Indian loveliness - such kind, good people.

Vishnak also confirmed what I already suspected about my backpack.
Vishnak "What have you got in there? All of England?!"
Next time I will pack lightly...



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb