Another update


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Tiruvannamalai
February 21st 2007
Published: February 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all

Things are begginning to change around at my placement. Firstly, Gemma is in Kerala for 2 weeks, and will get back in a couple of weekends. Also, Rose has left for Dehli. This means a lot more work for me, and I'm now taking all of 7th standard by myself. I was very worried about this, but today's lesson went really well, even though it left me with a lot of marking. I'm feeling much more confident about the whole thing after today though. However this is a cloud on my horizon at the moment. It's that it all seems to be coming to an end very quickly. Gemma and Kim need to get to Nepal before their visas expire, so they leave on the 15th March. Colin needs to go back to the U.K. for a week because he has an interview to do medicine at Newcastle, he needs to prepare pretty thoroughly so he's taking a while off. That means for a week or so before I leave I'll be alone, which I'm very worried about, I'll miss people's company. It's always hard work, but we have fun at the same time at the moment, where as that may dry up.

Other than that, everthing's fine. We had a great weekend in Mamallapuram, with about 8 hours sleep from Friday morning to Sunday night! Spending the night at Chennai bus stand was very fun, and meeting up with lots of other GAP people was great. I think I annoyed them by keeping a firm eye on Man Utd v Reading in the evening, but I don't regret my choice. They saw how much it meant when we equalised, especially when I phoned around celebrating! If Seol's late chip had been a couple of inches lower I think I would have truly alienated them! The journey back took a staggering 10 hours though, we didn't get home until 11pm. We expeted 7 or 8. On the first bus the driver stopped for 30 minutes to buy a load of melons before doing the same again to sell them oin at a later stop. It was a typical Indian thing, really funny when I think about it now, but very frustrating at the time. He was being paid to drive a bus, so why didn't he do it properly? Then at the change we had to wait an hour for a bus. When it did arrive the tire punctured half way. ARRRGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!

The photo I have is of me, Colin, Claire and Catherine in Pondicherry. Colin got a full size copy as a late birthday card, and they still haven't had the chance to give him his present. We only live 20km apart, but for various reasons our plans fall through. Anyway, Colin's pretending like the anticipation is killing him, but he already knows that it's a drum some guy was trying to sell him. He broke me after about 5 minutes but we were very good at lying to Claire and Catherine about it. In all honesty it wasn't Claire's finest hour when she told him that I knew his present (I don't think she reads this). However, I can't upload pictures onto here full size for some silly reason. Apparently they're under 1 megapixel in size, which is rubbish. It's possible to put them on CD in school, which I will do with pther people's photos. And I've made up my mind to get a digicam in Bangalore next weekend, so I'll have photos of travelling up the west coast.

Travelling is another dilemma. This registering is still a pain after it's all sorted. We have to go back to the Tiru police station a week before we leave, which cuts short by time. I don't know if it's possible to do The west coast (Kerala - Goa - Mumbai) then Rajastan then Agra and Dehli in my 5 or 6 weeks. I can put my flight back as late at the 11th June without extending my visa, but it will cost money and I get the feeling Mum won't like the idea too much. All the GAP students are having a meeting about travelling when we all meet in Bangalore, so I'll have a better idea after then.

Last night Rose had her leaving party at the hostel. It was great fun, although it was embarrassing because I hardly finished my food. In fact this is an issue. My appetite has not grown back since I was sick a month or so ago. When I first arrived I thought Maria was going to make us put on wieght, but my shorts now fall down if I don't wear a belt. I'm fine with losing weight for the time being, but I know it's not healthy to eat as little as I am. At the same time energy is not a problem, I outlasted everyone on the weekend of no sleep.

So I'm still having a great time here, but there are a few things to worry and think about, and I am worrying and thinking about them a lot at the moment.

Hope you're all well.

Rob.

p.s. Only 2 out of 11 of mine and Gemma's slow learners failed, some of them were even into the 60% region. It was very satisfying.

Advertisement



25th February 2007

go and do more travel
Rob, I really think your Mum will accept it if you decide to stay on a little longer and do some more travel,it is a golden opportunity. She is so proud of you. I think it has helped her to talk to you regularly, and your plan would only be another few days, not much in terms of the total time of your placement . See what she says, but I suggest you seize the opportunity..as long as you show us the pictures!
26th February 2007

sounds fun
I have images of you coming back really skinny now Rob! All sounds great still xx
26th February 2007

forgot to say...
Reading are playing Man-U tomorrow, I already have a date to watch the match in a pub against a man-u fan, you should be proud! xx
27th February 2007

Nuts
I'm sending you some nuts and raisins to snack on!
27th February 2007

More please!
Rob! I check your blog every day and am awaiting the next update with baithed breath! She'll tell me off for saying this, but i'm sure mum would rather you make the most of your time and enjoy yourself than rush back early for her sake....

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb