India or Bust


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Tiruvannamalai
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This entry is coming to you from somewhere over the Atlantic Ocean, as I make my way to India. Wait - what's that noise? It sounds like my dog snoring. And what's that outside my window? It looks like a very familiar back yard, my own even. I guess I was mistaken. This is coming to you from my home.

Even so, I've had my first taste of India. I was supposed to fly out of Minneapolis at 12:30 p.m. today. I didn't learn until 9:30 a.m. that my visa had not been issued yet. Thankfully, although my travel agent went on vacation as of this morning, he had filled a colleague in on the situation, who canceled the reservation in time to save me from being a "no show" and thus forfeiting the small fortune I paid for it. He's got me tentatively booked for another flight for Friday. But my chances of getting my visa in time to depart then is anyone's guess.

Veteran India travelers consistently advise one to be prepared for such changes in plans. I have to admit that having an extra two days to get ready is a relief. I spent much of today finishing up work that a co-worker otherwise would have had to do. I've had a chance to rethink my luggage. And I've never regret having another night or two to snuggle in bed with my pets and another day to walk my beloved beagle. It's frustrating to give up two days of my trip and pay a higher airfare to do so. But if it's the biggest inconvenience I experience in the next month, I'll consider myself fortunate.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb