Miraculous Beyond Measure


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Tirumala
March 15th 2006
Saved: June 2nd 2021
Edit Blog Post

Said to be greater than the pilgrimage places of Mecca, Rome and Jerusalem - the Venkateswara Temple in Tirumala averages 150,000 pilgrims every day of the year - surpassing even the numbers that attend the aforementioned holy sites. People regarded me with curious and suspicious eyes when I arrived at the nearby city of Tirupati, for non-Hindus and/or foreigners are rare (in fact I never saw another) and as you may know, I derive great pleasure from journeying along paths seldom trod by travellers. Normally someone would eventually approach me to say "hello" or query my country of origin (by saying "your country") - but here - silence. Some pointed to me and whispered furtively to their friend - but nothing more than this. I much rather the constant enquiries than their silent stares without questions as it is slightly disconcerting. I finally located and checked into my hotel and entered my details into the register, where I listed my 'Purpose of Visit' as "Tourism" whereas ever other entry said "Religious"

The following morning, I purchased the return bus ticket (termed the "Up and Down" ticket) for the long, winding journey to the hill city of Tirumala. Being an extremely important religious place, many items are banned from the mountain that would defile its sanctity - so upon arriving at a checkpoint - a security officer boarded and searched certain male occupants for forbidden items. Reaching me, he eyed me prior to saying "Smoking" (i.e. cigarettes) to which I replied in the negative - "Alcohol" he then asked - to which I again reassured him "No alcohol, no smoking, no coffee - only mineral water". He was obviously satisfied with this answer as he left without saying another word. We commenced the serpentine journey and the scenery of the rocky escarpment and wooded hills was beautiful - the area certainly lived up to its oft-mentioned creed of "Clean and Green" and to ensure this, many signs were placed to remind people, such as "Don't Consume Liquor", "Not to Spit at Tirumala", "No Smoking", "Not to Write on Rocks" and the more intriguing "Open Urination Prohibited".

Arriving at Tirumala - I was amazed at the vastness of the place and the volume of people. The crowds were not that obvious, as due to the layout of the streets it was not possible to command any total view of the city. However, there were always people, and lots of them, wherever you walked and wherever you looked. After locking away all my possessions, I proceeded barefoot to participate in 'Darshan' - that is to visit the Lord Venkateswara for prayer. There were several darshans to choose from - the VIP version (for 100 rupees), the Special version (for 50 rupees) and the free version - so I headed to the latter - particularly since the queues in the VIP one were bedlam, and the special darshan counter was empty.

I was ushered into a huge cage like enclosure - about 40 metres square with a concrete floor of large steps. It was for the most part quiet, clean, and filled with many pilgrims - from which I received the same curious but silent treatment. I was informed by the officer at the gate that I would need to wait 2 hours - and being 9:30am - thought I would be out of the temple by midday. But a sense of disquiet came over me as I saw the clock pass 10:30am and the people in the four other cages I could discern did not move. I found someone who spoke English and said "How long will we be here?" "Mmm," he thoughtfully considered "about seven o'clock - or maybe eight." That was nine hours away!

Seeing that free darshan was now a extremely bad option, I had to harangue the guard to unlock the cage to let me out (which provided some very anxious moments when I thought he would not do so) and returned to the VIP darshan to purchase the ticket that promised a quicker entry, but it had closed. The chances of entering the temple were looking decidedly slim. In order to extract some sympathy, I started playing the 'stupid tourist' - walking around vaguely, looking lost, scratching my head and similar histrionics, in order to secure entrance into the temple without waiting for nine hours. Perhaps the lack of interaction with foreigners doomed this ploy to failure since no-one assisted me.

All seemed lost so I gave one last desperate plea at the VIP counter "How do I get in?!" (complete with exasperated gestures) - when an 'angel' visited my side. His name was Mr Joha Rao Srikakulam and it was as if some great force, or chance of fate, had him standing next to me at the counter. He heard my question and queried if I wanted to enter the temple, and after replying in the affirmative, he said that I could accompany him into the temple as he had an extra VIP ticket. With Mr Srikakulam continuously guiding me, we immediately joined a line of pilgrims, many of them shaved - men, women and children - as was the requirement of the more devout. It was to be 90 minutes before I left the temple again and it would be a time that would provide me with the pinnacle of my experiences in India.

After passing security to ensure that there were no electronic items on me - a stern looking official requested me to fill in the "Non-Hindu Entrance Form" where I placed my name, address, current religion and then a decree that I would honour the Lord Balaji (any Hindu deity could be so entered) and then sign. Once the formalities were complete - we joined the growing queues, and now the official pilgrimage trek began. We initially climbed a small flight of stairs about 100 metres from the temple complex. I glanced behind me and saw the rows of free darshan cages devoid of any movement - and again considered how fortunate I was to have met Mr Srikakulam. The roofed corridor headed towards the temple's wall and on either side we were fenced in by a series of vertical coloured bars atop a concrete wall. We shuffled along as the tightly packed pilgrims chanted their deities' name. Once we turned right at the wall, we now walked on large dark stones instead of concrete - the colour bars now replaced by brass and the verbal devotions and chants became more pronounced. Crammed in like this, it would be easy to envisage how many people could die if a stampede or moment of panic ensued. We turned left along the front of the temple and passed religious inscriptions dating centuries, prior to finally reaching the entrance.

I quickly moved through the entrance and across a section of running water that cleansed the feet. We entered the outer courtyard packed with hundreds of worshippers funnelling their way through the silver doors on the other side. No etiquette or protocol was in place here as Mr Srikakulam and I moved to these doors - constantly buffeted by people on all sides. Upon reaching the door and walking across the silver threshold into the inner courtyard, the gold plated Gopuram (tiered tower) with scenes of golden figures loomed above me - it was magnificent. At this time, with only the door of the inner sanctum to pass, the pilgrims became more expectant and agitated - so Mr Srikakulam and I made our way along the perimeter of the courtyard and was soon at the door - thus passing the whirlpool of devotees to our right who took the more direct but slower route.

As we entered the final chamber, the crush became immense - my arms were immobilised beside me as they were pinned by the pressing weight of humanity. Eager pilgrims behind me continued to surge into the room, but those in front were slowed in order to sight longer images of their Lord. The pressure on my body became greater as children were hoisted into the air by their parents to ensure their safety. The mass lunged forward - the expectation and chanting intensifying with every laboured step. Finally we entered the inner sanctum of the temple and bejewelled in gold, diamonds and precious stones stood the beautiful black statue of Venkateswara. Temple officials kept pushing us forward to ensure we did not tarry here too long, but all eyes of the devotees were transfixed by their deity - hands raised in adoration, praying and chanting with extreme emotion, their adoration was intense. After giving a brief devotion, an official grabbed my left arm and shoved me towards the exit, when a female official beckoned me towards her. She spoke two words: "Which Country!", a question which felt quite out of place amongst this reverence - "Australia" I replied with a smile, as I quickly exited the sanctum before being mishandled by another official.

After leaving the temple with Mr Srikakulam, a miraculous reaction occurred as waves of emotion ran across me. I wanted to cry - but not tears of joy or sadness - just tears. No sooner had this subsided that my body succumbed to an energy much like static electricity surging through me - it was most noticeable in the arms, but was apparent on the legs and torso as well. I quizzed Mr Srikakulam "My body in shaking, like electricity". With a wry smile he replied, "Powerful temple". This electrified feeling continued for several minutes as I received holy water and a blessing in the form of a silver bowl being placed on my head. The static feeling subsided, only to be replaced by one of total euphoria - which lasted for the remainder of the day. After receiving Prassadam (holy food) and finishing the rituals - Mr Srikakulam and I left the temple and bid each other a heartfelt farewell.

I have been to many holy sites of all faiths, but have never experienced anything like this - the extreme emotion, the electricity through my body, the euphoric feeling. Perhaps it was caused by the energies that the pilgrims invested in the area, the expectant bias within each attendee, or some less explicable origin. Whatever the reason, it certainly is the most potent religious site I have ever visited. A very powerful force lies within the Venkateswara Temple - and its impact upon me has clouded my thoughts, defied my explanations and silenced my words.

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

22nd March 2006

Wonderful!
Shane, I admire your ability to take travels like these. What a wonderful jouney. Thank you for sharing it. Lindsay Nairobi, Kenya
11th April 2006

Thank You So much !
Hello Shane ( if that is your name ) - I read through your blog on your thirumala experience. I am Indian and been to this place few times. reading through your blog -- it brought tears in my eyes. .. for the way you narrated your experience and the way you concluded your feelings about this religious place. I belong to the same state Andhra Pradesh and I myself travelled all over India like any western traveller. Yes some places can bring the most wonderful experiences to us.. like the cast expances of Himalayas can make us spell bound ! - Ramesh Kompella Heidelberg , Germany ! I would love to hear from you if you dont have any reservations .. rameshkompella@yahoo.com
14th May 2006

Overwhelming!
Hi there, whoever you are, you made me nostalgic. I just went through your bolg and I am moved, touched.Infact words fail me. I am an Indian and belong to the state of Andhra Pradesh in which Tirumala is located. I am a devotee of Lord Venkateswara and have been to Tirumala quite a few times. I am now in US and I miss that place so much. I want to go there right now after reading your experience exactly like mine whenever I've been there. Its overwhelming, inexplicable!I just don't feel like going back home from that place, it's miraculous. It is powerful. I can feel God there.I connect to him at that place. It's as if he is walkin with me through every step I make. Thanks for reminding me of all those days spent there!God bless you!
14th May 2006

Overwhelming !
Hi there, whoever you are, you made me nostalgic. I just went through your bolg and I am moved, touched.Infact words fail me. I am an Indian and belong to the state of Andhra Pradesh in which Tirumala is located. I am a devotee of Lord Venkateswara and have been to Tirumala quite a few times. I am now in US and I miss that place so much. I want to go there right now after reading your experience exactly like mine whenever I've been there. Its overwhelming, inexplicable!I just don't feel like going back home from that place, it's miraculous. It is powerful. I can feel God there.I connect to him at that place. It's as if he is walkin with me through every step I make. Thanks for reminding me of all those days spent there!God bless you!
26th May 2006

To 'quintessential' and 'Madhavi'
Thank you both for these kind words - your comments are both humbling and pleasing. My purpose is writing is to accurately portray in a fair and non-judgemental manner these experiences in my life. For worshippers of this temple to read this entry and be moved to tears evokes the same reaction in me as well - as this is the greatest compliment any writer can receive. The passion shown by these two people for their temple and their Lord reminds me of the extreme devotion and love of God encountered in Tirumula. This is arguably the greatest religious site in India and should be a must see on any traveller's itinerary.
2nd June 2006

Thanks!
Hi there! Thanks for replying to my comment. I so much appreciate it. I hope you will include many more such experiences of all your fulfilling journeys in the future too, be it any place in the world. God bless you!
29th June 2006

Excellent!
Hi Iam an Indian and a great devotee of Lord Venkateswara. When I read your blog, it reminded me of my personel experiences. I had the same feelings when I last visited the Lord Venkateswara in December 2005. Your narration is too good. God bless you! Shiva
28th March 2007

What a great feeling
Hi Shane, This is a truely a very beautiful blog,I had goose bumps just reading your article.It certainely is a spell bound expereince.We just dont know what happens on entering the main temple.Tears automatically rolls down and it is a unexplainable situation.Thanks for the wonderful blog. I am a devote of the Lord venkateshwara.If possible you take the path of walking to the temple.It certainly is a place where inspite of 1000's and 1000's of people there is a sense of peace and tranquility.It is a place which we dont wish to come back from . Bye take care
3rd April 2008

tirupati tirumala balaji darshan
tirupati tirumala balaji darshan / seva booking / accomodation / internet booking, contact gunsnguys@gmail.com for more information and updates.
20th July 2009

hi this was really amazing. i work and live in dubai now.my parents live very close like 100kms from tirupati. all my childhood like from 5 year old there were atleast 3 visits to tirumala in a year. its been almost 7 years i havent gone there. ur travel blog just made me very nostalgic and made me remember my childhood how my darshan went from free darshans to vip darshans. i was just looking in ur blog to know if u have travelled to oman and sanaa. i have a road trip plan next month from dubai to muscat, muscat to nizwa, nizwa to salalah and salalah to sanaa. please if u have an idea about bus fares and hotel fares can u plz let me know??
11th October 2009

Nostalgia
That was a wonderful narrative. I have not been to Tirumala, but have been to some places, and the experiences narrated can be related. Great narrative, yet again... Kudos...
23rd June 2011

beautiful narration
mr. shane,you made me visualise my lord thru your narration. thank you very much. you will certainly have blessings of srivenkateswara.
15th May 2012

tirupati darshan booking chennai
Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanam holds the position of being the most popular pilgrimage center across the world and i have provide tirupati darshan.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb