Kōlam, A symbol of beauty...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Puducherry
June 26th 2014
Published: May 13th 2020
Edit Blog Post





Locals of Pondicherry create these designs in front of their doors every sunrise and sunset to welcome people into their home. It also symbolizes beauty.











"India, the land of extremities. You're either extremely rich or extremely poor. Never have I seen a social gap as wide as India. What is the price of a human life? Some Indians live in conditions similar to that of, which animals live. There are lack of organization, it is crowded, unsanitary, noisy and there are cows everywhere!! If you prefer personal space, then India is not for you. I wanted to get out of there as soon as possible, but found myself missing it when I left. As unpleasant of a place as India can be, it has its humanizing charms. It made me realized that if you stripped me of everything: my Western values and etiquettes, material possessions and sense of shame, you would have an average Indian. The average Indian, epitomizes the definition of being human. They live their lives without shame and fear. I have learned a lot traveling through India. It can have a polarizing effect on you. You either really like it or you don't. Nothing in between.."
Journal Entry: 06.27.2014















Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb