Still no photos.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Ooty
September 13th 2006
Published: September 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

Everything is going well here and I am slowly getting used to the rawness of being in India and Indians generally. I have many photos some of which i will put on shortly, however India being India, the computer that I am working on here in Ooty has floppy drive access only and nothing else!!!

After leaving Mysore which was a terrific village, i spent a couple of days in a Wildlife Sanctuary and went for a nightime and daytime Safari. I was lucky enough to see wild elephants and bisons and various other wildlife but unfortunately no Big Cats.

The food has been great here so far and touch wood I still have not got sick. The people are very nice and hospitable and with the execption of the roads, it is a very unthreatening country generally. To make you all laugh, Some things that have happened and also you should note if you feel like visiting India sometime.

.1 Their are Cows and goats everywhere in all streets completely wild and cows will just appear from anywhere . I was walking with my head down one time and nearly walked into it until it mooed to make me notice it.

.2 Cows are the only things in India that have any right of way on the roads. Everyone else is driven at.

.3 Their are no rules on Indian roads. Driving without lights at night is totally acceptable and it is the responsibility of the pedestrian to move out of the way.

.4 You may think it is safe to cross a one way road when there is no traffic coming but someone will come driving from the opposite direction and will gladly run you down.

.4 Showering with your mouth closed is vital to minimising risk of water ingestion/thickness. Try this some time. Make it even more fun and do this with a Cold shower!

.5 It is perfectly acceptable for men to urinate everywhere and anywhere.

.6 Today, a rickshaw was overtaking another. They were travelling towards me. Luckily the rickshaw that was being overtaken decided to beep to let me know he was being overtaken so fortunately I did not end up under the other one.

.7 Despite the disregard for safety on the roads when all vehicles are generally driving forward, most vehicles have musical sirens which activate very loudly...when ther are reversing at 2mph!!


Take Care everyone and I will update you all in a week or so.

AC.





Advertisement



14th September 2006

Means of travel...
If cows have right of way on the roads then hijack one and use that as your mode of transportation. Secure a harness and ride through India on your trusty steed. Added bonus features; If you get thirsty milk it and if you get hungry BBQ it!!! If times get tough think about it :-) I also hope the little boys have left you alone...And you still have your shoes.
14th September 2006

We need photos!
Sounds like you are having fun.
15th September 2006

Spurs won
Hi Poppy sure you would like to know Spurs won last night in the uefa cup tie 1-0 Jenas with the goal and what a cracker. Leave those cute boys alone and keep well marvey
16th September 2006

Spurs
Hi Marv, Hope that you are well mate. Loving Spurs man, awesome result. Cant wait for the return leg now. India is great man and also what makes it even greater is that they have loads of footy on as well. They have Spurs Fulham tomorrow , the whole match, loads of higjlights and all the live matches that are on Sky too.. In my hotel room, how about that then. Come on the spurs. Enjoy marv and keep sending those messages man..loving them. Man you would just be loving the food here man , although even I do find it tough to have Curry for breakfast.yuk. Speak soon mate.
16th September 2006

Photos
Hi Mike,Katie,Anna,Christopher, Hope that you are all well. Photos to follow very soon. These net places in India are behind the times man. Hopefully I will have better luck in the next few days. Big hugs and kisses to Anna and Christopher. Love Andrew
18th September 2006

Shower with your mouth closed
Mate, whats that about? Its good to hear you having such a great time!
18th September 2006

Get behind a cow
I agree with George, if in trouble use the sacred cow as a shield! Sounds and looks like you are having a brilliant time on your spiritual journey through India (although I am sure you would be enjoying it more with me talking at you non stop all day long!). I was especially pleased to hear about your impending nuptials! Missing you!
18th September 2006

What a picture
Poppy your dad is the happiest i have ever seen him. That is one of the funniest things i have seen this year. Nice one. Shit result at the weekend good game though. Nice to see you have learnt how to upload the pictures look forward to seeing more of what your up to. Got the urge for a ruby now, might keep a bit back for breakfast just to see. Take it easy pop Marv
19th September 2006

No PICTURES
Take some pictures re! Before they nick your camera>>>>
20th September 2006

Finally photos!
Hi Andreas, Looks like you're having a wicked time. I am green with envy. Keep updating us, it brightens my day at work to read your travel journal. Love P
21st September 2006

maimou calling
hey you,hows things there?i can imagine you having a great time adventuring and watching for any cow stepping on you... Andrea pote gyrnas piso Londino,i might manage this year to visit UK,miss it soooo bad..anyway...hope you are well
24th September 2006

Hello from India
Hi all, how are you all doing? Thanks for your messages which really instill me with confidence here in India. Is everything ok there, how is Uncle George doing. I am having fun here now and am well into the swing of things here but initially it was a very overwhelming country which i sort of expected but perhaps wasnt quite ready for. It is Sunday afternoon now and in a couple of hours I will be getting on a bus for a 14 hr journey to Goa which I am very looking forward too as all i have heard from here and there is good things about it. My best wishes and love to all and I look forward to hearing from you all very soon. Andrew
24th September 2006

Coup
Hi P. How you doing, whats happening, are we meeting in Thailand or what???. Listen, you really need to have a few words and sort out this military coup, what is wrong with you people huh??:) How is your new job, are you enjoying it as much as Philimore, surely the people cant be as good as we were hey... How are things otherwise, is Tracey ok. Is she enjoying not working then. She would love it here in India, there are so many orphanedkids that would love her to bits. I feel so guilty sometimes about moving places and would love just to stop for a month and help out a little community or do some voluntary work. I feel that the kid thing will be bad in Nepal and Cambodia even worse so it will be tough. Anyways, speak very soon, take care love Andreas
24th September 2006

Georgey
Whats up Mr George, how are things going boy?? Water ingestion here my friend is highly likely to end up with some type of sickness/trots etc etc hence showers with mouth shut. Believe me some places have been ok but you get areas sometimes where the water comes out brown from the tap for the first minute or so..grosssss How are you doing Mr. How is Leonie and the girls, send me some pics to my email address my man. Hope that you aint working too hard, which you are probably not anyway ha ha . I will speak to you very soon. Keep a tab on those photos, i am sure that you love seeing me getting harrassed in a group of people from the laughing club dont you? Andreas
24th September 2006

Ella Maimou
How you doing, ise gala. Den yiriso stin Anglia until telos tin January 2007. When were you thinking of coming over. Erhoume stin ellada ton hrono, den ero pote., Maybe April time or something. Pos ine i thouya, se plironoune tora i thoulevis ya tipota??? Ti alla nea, i ikoyenia ine gala, i ellada ine gala. Take Care Maimou, Andreas XX
25th September 2006

Well paid maimou
obvious from the comment title....e maimou my parents just arrived,we, the strange people-you know-have our congregation on the weekend so they came to visit me....we are all perfectly well and happy.. maimou send me some real madras carry please... best wishes
25th September 2006

Hi Andreas! Patsy sent me the link to your travel blog, it looks like you're having such a great time, I'm so jealous!!! Love the photos, just watch out for those cows! It looks like you have already had quite a few adventures. Are you doing any volunteer work while you are away? It sounds like that would be pretty tough going but totally worthwhile. I can't wait to finish my nursing so I can actually get out to places like that. Have a great trip, look forward to more of your blogs! Tracey x
5th October 2006

Tracey AKA??
Hi Tracey, i was trying to remember your alias that Pee told me but i cant. Thanks for writing. It certainly is an adventure here in India. The cow situation here really is crazy, i am actually worried that one will attack me soon. I hope that your course is going well and that your sleeping pattern is becoming abit more stable!!!. I am sure that you would love it here with all the Orphans and street kids but it is just so difficult here [and probably everwhere] as there are just so many kids everywhere. I would love to have done a bit to help and aside from giving some kids as they come along a bit of food/drink, I havent gone to work for an aid agency or anything. I have met many people who have it is just a great thing they are doing and i wish that I had a little more time so that I could settle for a month somewhere and help, maybe next time. Take Care Tracey , Andreas x
5th October 2006

Broooooo
Vromo Indiani, brooooooooooooooooooooo

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb