Mamallapuram - Old friend


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Mamallapuram
January 23rd 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Did the tourist thing and made my way to; Five Rathas, they are rock-cut temples that resemble chariots, Arjuanas Peanane, a huge with animal and carvings of deities - quite impressive and the romantic Shore temple.

After spending 3 months exploring various forts and temples they have all but lost their appeal, although, the village has impressed me; palm trees, sand covered roads, quaint road-side stalls selling sweet bananas, lassies and fruit juice and a huge collection of beach-side restaurants with the “catch of the day” on show.

Ate at a rather interesting Indian restaurant and had a delicious South Indian Thali, and of course, I ate with my fingers.

Headed for the beach, read Moby Dick and swam like a mad-man.

Met my good man Steve Gallagher, a set-designer and no relation to Liam in the evening and ate Tandoori fish. Good fish but very expensive, it annihilated my budget.

And surprisingly, even more so because I emailed him in the day I met an old friend, Tubbs, who got my attention by heckling me on the street corner. I met him in Jaisalmier two months ago. Had a drink with him (orange juice) and decided to change my plans and stay for a couple more days - a simple twist of fate, lol.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb