Greetings from Somewhere in India


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Chennai
January 18th 2006
Published: January 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Indian DancerIndian DancerIndian Dancer

This dancer was dressed as both a woman and a man to represent a god at the local temple-the god brings the balance of the masculine and the feminine. His dancing was amazing-both macho and delicate combined.
Hi Everyone. Sorry to have been out of touch. I wrote a blog entry a couple of days ago, but the computer failed and I lost it. I didn't have the time to recreate it, and we haven't had access to a computer since. We're out in the rural areas of the country right now. I think that I'm just about fully recovered from whatever I had, but I'm not sure that my stomach, intestines or poo will ever be the same again! I fully indulged in all the local fare from the beginning, which I think was a mistake...I'm being more careful now...lighter on the spice and such...hopefully I'll heal all the way soon. (However, our hosts seem a tad offended that I'm not fully indulging in their food...but I've got to take care of myself...being sick over here is really the pits.)

Let me catch you up...remember I said that I sometimes feel like Princess Di over here? Well, when they took me to the hospital for my illness (the flu I described before turned into vomitting, etc., so we got nervous), I was seen by a cardiologist. Can you imagine seeing a cardiologist for the flu?! Then,
Team with DancerTeam with DancerTeam with Dancer

Here is the team and a full photo of the Indian dancer-I must admit, he scared me at first! Us girls are dressed in our Indian attire. This photo was taken at the Rotary meeting at Tiruchengodu.
I decided to go ahead and get my nose "poked" and one of our hosts (a doc who owns a hospital) arranged for a plastic surgeon to do it! I had general anastesia (I hate not having spell check!), a plastic surgeon, nurses and an operating room...I'm not kidding! My host mom was cracking up because when they get it done, they do it on the street corner...and here we were with a top of the line plastic surgeon! So, now I'm like one of the locals (sort-of...my nose piece is much smaller than what they generally wear). Send me good vibes that it doesn't get infected...so far, no pain and it seems to be healing well.

I miss my host family in Salem terribly already. Last night I stayed in a lovely home with a sweet couple who hardly spoke any English. We got spoiled with our earlier hosts and now we are out in the country-side where English isn't as prevalent, and things won't be as seamless.

As usual, I don't have much time, but wanted to check in and send you all love. I have so much more to tell...but not nearly enough time to
Blessed TeamBlessed TeamBlessed Team

This is our team after we were blessed (thus the flower garlands and scarves tied around our heads) by the priests at the Temple at Tiruchengodu.
get into it. Everyone here is well and sends their love. I personally am feeling quite homesick and appreciating our way of life in whole new ways...I have taken so much for granted! I'm also realizing areas where our life seems sterile and shallow and there is so much more depth and color possible. xxoo.

Advertisement



18th January 2006

piercings are cool.. the guys love them
jody i'm so jealous you got your nose pierced! can't wait to see it... love your blogs and your transparency.. it's like being there with you. :-) being in the country is a great opportunity for 'immersion language' situations. learn some cool words and come teach us.. a friend of mine can say 'thank you' and 'cheers' in 25 languages. just a thought. love you.
18th January 2006

Go for the belly button also
Jody, Great work as usual on these entries. If you were taking video, you have the makings of a documentary. Perhaps Michael Moore would be interested. India does seem to be a country of extremes. It has me appreciate what I have here even more. Btw, why don't you get your belly button pierced while you're at it? And how about a tatoo? Thanks for taking the time to write as much as you do especially given your illness. Dan L
18th January 2006

Your Nose
Wow...with all that surgery going on, I thought for a second that you were actually having a full nose job and not just a piercing! Glad to hear that all of you are feeling better. Mike says there isn't enough lifetime to tell the full breadth of the experience. Everyone especially enjoys the blogs because you and Maggie put so much detail into them. Someone suggested to me that, if possible, maybe Debbie or Ryan could write a short piece on your blog site because we're all greedy for all sides of the story. You're doing a great job and we are all SO proud of all of you...and very grateful for your blogs.
18th January 2006

"poo" or did you mean "pooh"
I guess you weren't talking about the little bear Pooh were you? Thank you for journaling your trip. It really let's us share in your experience.
18th January 2006

Better - yeah!
So glad to hear you're better! It sounds like you've done your own "intestinal cleasne". Not a fun way or place to do it though... But I sure glad you're feeling better. Nose pierced - yeah! How fun. I hope you have a diamond stud in it. You deserve it! Looking forward to hikes again when you return. Love, Gia

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb